Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Gaps stay blank.
Bulletin · kit comparison · 2026
Independent kit notes for growers and EQIP applicants
Tunnel Spec compares commercially manufactured high-tunnel kits the way an extension bulletin would: cite the page, date the retrieval, leave blanks blank. It is not a blog dump, not a coupon site, and not the county office.
Requirements copied from the USDA NRCS Pennsylvania seasonal high tunnel page, a printable inspection checklist, six questions for the county office, and the kit spec table. Always: rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
Electricity, used kits, DIY frames, pots, hydroponics, livestock housing, and greenhouses — copied from the NRCS FAQ, the Pennsylvania page, and CPS 325. Not a payment schedule. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Friday, Nov. 13, 2026. Texas High Tunnel Initiative: season-extension bullets, supporting practices, continuous applications ranked in periods. No invented payment dollars.
National ranking-dates still leaves California ACEP/CSP/EQIP blank. The California EQIP page still prints FY26 Apply by January 15, 2026. High Tunnel Initiative names pest/drift and soil-health practices. No invented FY27 cutoff or payment dollars.
National ranking-dates still leaves Ohio ACEP/CSP/EQIP blank. The Ohio EQIP page still prints FY 2026 cutoff January 15, 2026 close of business plus a High Tunnels funding pool. Urban Agriculture names Cincinnati and Cleveland. No invented FY27 cutoff or payment dollars.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Thursday, Oct. 1, 2026. Pennsylvania seasonal high tunnel: manufactured kits, 6-mil, snow-cover roll-up unless the manufacturer designed for snow load. No invented payment dollars.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Friday, Sept. 18, 2026. New York EQIP uses ACT NOW for High Tunnel and Conservation Planning Activities. No invented payment dollars or ranking scores.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Friday, Oct. 30, 2026. The North Carolina EQIP page still prints leftover January 15, 2026. FY 2026 news used Nov. 7, 2025. No invented high-tunnel payment dollars.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Friday, December 18, 2026. Washington EQIP prints the same calendar day and uses Act Now. Leftover FY 2026 Classic dates stay labeled FY 2026. No invented current payment dollars.
FY 2027 ACEP/CSP/EQIP ranking date on the national page: Friday, Oct. 30, 2026. Michigan EQIP names High Tunnels. Special Initiatives: Seasonal High Tunnel for Wayne and Genesee. Leftover 2024 dates stay labeled 2024. No invented payment dollars.
“NRCS approved” on a kit page is vendor marketing copy. The FAQ and CPS 325 define a manufactured kit and structure-only money. The county decides. No invented payment dollars.
Can EQIP fund a used high tunnel? The FAQ says no. New commercially manufactured kits versus marketplace frames versus DIY pipe-and-poly. Not a payment schedule. Call the county.
Historically underserved producers: NRCS says the advance is at least 50 percent of the contracted payment on one page, and 50% of the contract item on the Fact Sheet. 90 days to expend. The only official dollar example is cover crop, not a high tunnel.
Do I need a permit for a high tunnel? Sourced PA UCC and Act 15 SWMA, New York temporary-greenhouse, Ohio statute, and one Ohio county form. Local rules. Call planning/zoning and NRCS. Not legal advice.
Bootstrap Farmer, Rimol, FarmTek / GrowSpan, Tunnel Vision Hoops, and Grower's Solution — example SKUs re-opened tonight. Quote-only pages stay an em dash. Not a load table.
9 kits from live product pages retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Prices that were missing stay an em dash. Lengths that were not labeled are not guessed.
Peaked gothic versus round Quonset: sourced peak heights, vendor snow language, kit complexity, and when an EQIP buyer should ask about snow load. No invented wind or payment figures.
Rimol Nor'Easter 30×96 Basic versus Bootstrap Farmer 30′ Round All-Metal. Live list prices, vendor snow language, freight. No invented PSF. Bootstrap has no 96′ SKU.
Farmers Friend 10-year storm-damage cover on Haven and Guardian versus Bootstrap Farmer 5-year All-Metal manufacturing-defect cover, plus live hoop gauges. No invented PSF. Essential frame warranty stays blank.
Official 2023 PHZM zone 4 vs zone 8 temperature bands, land-grant winter row-cover versus summer shade notes, and gothic snow language labeled as vendor copy. No invented PSF. No planting calendar a source did not print.
Amazon-dense hub for high-tunnel replacement parts and greenhouse poly replacement parts: film, wiggle wire, drip, shade, anchors, roll-up hardware, and row cover with featured prices copied 2 October 2026. Deep links into the specialty pages. EQIP FAQ is structure-only. Not a kit.
Sourced 6-mil UV greenhouse poly: Bootstrap Farmer 16×90, Grower's Solution 16×25, VEVOR 15×40, plus lock channel. PA NRCS and CPS 325 name a minimum 6-mil greenhouse-grade cover. Not a 30×96 roof roll.
Sourced Amazon drip parts after the house is up: 1/2-inch mainline, 2 GPH emitters, a 3/4-inch Y filter, a 3/4-inch regulator, stakes, and a quad manifold. EQIP pays for the structure, not drip hardware.
Sourced Amazon shade cloth after the house is up: 30%, 40%, 50%, and 70% panels, a 6×100 40% roll, and lock-grip clips. Purdue HO-327-W cites 30–50% for light while cooling. EQIP pays for the structure, not the cloth.
Sourced Amazon lock channel and spring wire after the house is up: 20-of-each and 50-of-each bundles, 4/10/20-pack channel, and a 10-pack of PVC-coated wire. Two base rails are 2 × house length. EQIP pays for the structure, not the fasteners.
Sourced Amazon ground anchors and landscape staples after the house is up: 15- and 18-inch screw-in packs, a 30-inch ShelterAuger, and 6-/8-inch staple counts. Pack size is not a house BOM. EQIP pays for the structure, not the hardware.
Sourced kit-by-kit: All-Metal and Haven/Guardian/TVH ship steel hip or baseboards; Essential, Glacier, Super Duty, and GK1 tell you to buy 2×4s or 2×6s locally; Rimol Basic is brackets; Ledgewood and Hortitech stay silent. Not a lumber invoice.
Sourced kit-by-kit: Rimol Basic, Haven, Guardian, TVH, GK1, Ledgewood complete, and Hortitech include roll-up sides; Bootstrap All-Metal and Essential Round list add-ons; Glacier and Super Duty omit them; Essential Gothic stays silent. Not a USDA sidewall payment.
Sourced kit-by-kit: All-Metal, Premium, Essential Gothic, and TVH ship steel ends and a door; Rimol Basic is brackets; Haven and Guardian sell zipper or DIY add-ons; Glacier, Super Duty, and GK1 leave the wall open or sell a separate kit. Not a USDA door payment.
Passive roll-up sides and end-wall vents stay on those pages. This one is HAF circulation, shutter exhaust, thermostats, wax auto vents, and a min/max thermometer — UVM / UNH figures only, live Amazon featured prices. Not a USDA fan payment.
Passive first: inner frost cloth, soil as night heat, double-poly inflation. Then vented propane or electric mats, thermostats, min/max alarms, and a CO detector — UVM / UMass / ACES / MSU figures only, live Amazon featured prices. EQIP heaters are grower cost. Not a kit.
Sidewall and end-wall exclusion mesh — Cornell / UGA 80-gram SWD, Alabama screens and HTPE shade-cloth large-moth alternative, zipper end door, live Amazon featured rolls. Seller mesh claims stay labeled. EQIP is structure-only. Not a kit.
What to put on the floor: woven landscape fabric vs plastic mulch vs bare soil — UMN aisle-yes / raspberry-row-no, SDSU burn holes and 6-inch staples, PSU plastic + drip, UAEX nutsedge. Live Amazon featured rolls. EQIP is structure-only. Not a kit.
Two 6-mil layers with an air gap: heat retention, condensation, wind flapping — MSU / Bartok / e-GRO / UF. Unheated 325 is still usually single layer. Outside-air blower, lock channel, Bartok ¼-inch pressure. Live Amazon featured blowers, film, tape, manometer. EQIP is structure-only. Not a kit.
When to patch a tear vs replace the sheet: UW Gorilla sandwich, MSU poly-patch inside and outside, UW batten strap (not sticky), UNL poly-lock vs wood lath. Live Amazon featured UV tape, spring wire, snap clamps. EQIP is structure-only. Not a kit.
Sourced kit-by-kit: Bootstrap, Rimol, Haven, Glacier, Super Duty, TVH 30, and GK1 name steel posts or stakes; TVH 20 lists a baseframe or ground-post choice; Ledgewood and Hortitech stay silent. Vendor wind sentences stay labeled. Not a load table or a USDA post payment.
Low tunnel, caterpillar, and polycarbonate hobby house versus a commercial high-tunnel kit. Live Johnny's / Farmers Friend / Palram / Haven prices. CPS 325 excludes greenhouses and low tunnels. No invented EQIP dollars.
Hoop-bender jig plus EMT or top rail versus a commercially manufactured kit. Live Amazon and Shopify tool prices tonight. EQIP typically will not fund DIY. Not a shop drawing.
Sourced tonight: UAEX MP586 season-extension and rain-shelter copy, Purdue shade/DLI sentences, Bootstrap Qlipr list prices, and live Amazon clips, twine, drip, and film. Not a yield table or a USDA crop payment.
Sourced tonight: UAEX MP586 rain-shelter and anthracnose copy, Purdue 30×96 trial method, Alabama and UKY plasticulture sentences, Grower's Solution mulch list prices, and live Amazon drip tape, mulch, fabric, and film. Not a yield table or a USDA crop payment.
Sourced tonight: UAEX MP586 and UKY CCD-FS-23 tomato-rotation copy, Purdue 26×48 trial house and 6-inch netting, Cornell harvest-height sentences, Bootstrap Farmer mesh list prices, and live Amazon netting, drip, fabric, and film. Not a yield table or a USDA crop payment.
Sourced tonight: UAEX MP586 winter-lettuce and secondary-cover copy, Purdue HO-330 / HO-297 row-cover and venting notes, Rutgers FS1267 winter-lettuce sheet, Cornell late-fall hardiness, Bootstrap Farmer frost-blanket list prices, and live Amazon frost blanket, drip, fabric, and film. Not a yield table or a USDA crop payment.
What width × length means on a vendor page, which commercial sizes are already priced on the kit index, and grower questions about beds, tractor pass, and EQIP footprint. Not a payment schedule.
Bootstrap Farmer, Hortitech Direct, and Grower’s Solution 20×80 list prices. A 20×48 or 30×80 is not this size. Grower’s Solution is a low-sidewall greenhouse, not an NRCS high-tunnel kit.
Which indexed kits advertise free shipping versus zoned freight or a phone quote — copied from live vendor pages. Rimol zone dollars only. Not a carrier rate for your ZIP.
A public directory of kit specifications for people who grow in the ground and may apply for EQIP or AMA cost share. We copy numbers from vendor product pages and quotes from the Pennsylvania NRCS page. If a vendor did not state bow spacing, peak height, or a price, we print an em dash and “not stated on the vendor page.”
We do not fill gaps from blogs, Facebook groups, or last year’s memory. We do not play lawyer. A vendor badge that says “NRCS eligible” is marketing copy, not a contract.
What this is not
This is not USDA. It is not a substitute for your county NRCS office, a certified technical service provider, or a tax advisor.
It is not a clone of HighTunnels.org. That supplier directory is a stale dump — Bootstrap Farmer still listed at Ernul, North Carolina, while live fabrication is in Texas; Tunnel Vision Hoops listed with no website. This site stands on current product pages.
How to use it
Print the EQIP checklist and read what EQIP will not pay for before you treat heaters, used kits, or a DIY frame as cost-shared. Used versus new commercial kits — FAQ says used systems may not be funded — is on used vs new high tunnel for EQIP. A hoop bender plus hardware-store pipe versus a prefab kit is on hoop bender DIY vs prefab kit. Rimol Nor'Easter versus Bootstrap 30′ Round for winter is on Nor'Easter vs Bootstrap 30′ snow. Farmers Friend storm-damage years versus Bootstrap All-Metal manufacturing-defect years and hoop gauges are on Farmers Friend warranty vs Bootstrap gauge. USDA zone 4 versus zone 8 — official hardiness bands, row cover, shade, and vendor snow copy — is on high tunnel USDA zone 4 vs zone 8. Low tunnel, caterpillar, and hobby polycarbonate versus a commercial kit — CPS 325 excludes greenhouses and low tunnels — is on high tunnel alternatives. Vendor “NRCS approved / eligible / EQIP” sentences versus the FAQ manufactured-kit rule are on NRCS approved high tunnel kits. Texas ranking — Friday, Nov. 13, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff plus the Texas High Tunnel Initiative — is on Texas EQIP high tunnel ranking. California ranking — ranking-dates blank, FY26 Apply-by January 15, 2026 still on the state EQIP page — is on California EQIP high tunnel ranking. Ohio ranking — ranking-dates blank, FY 2026 cutoff January 15, 2026 close of business plus a High Tunnels pool — is on Ohio EQIP high tunnel ranking. Pennsylvania ranking — Thursday, Oct. 1, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff plus the Pennsylvania seasonal high tunnel page — is on Pennsylvania EQIP high tunnel ranking. New York ranking — Friday, Sept. 18, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff plus ACT NOW for High Tunnel and Conservation Planning Activities — is on New York EQIP high tunnel ranking. North Carolina ranking — Friday, Oct. 30, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff, with leftover FY26 January 15, 2026 / Nov. 7, 2025 still on the state pages — is on North Carolina EQIP high tunnel ranking. Washington ranking — Friday, December 18, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff plus Act Now, with leftover FY 2026 Classic Oct. 23, 2025 / Jan. 16, 2026 labeled separately — is on Washington EQIP high tunnel ranking. Michigan ranking — Friday, Oct. 30, 2026 ACEP/CSP/EQIP cutoff plus the Wayne and Genesee Seasonal High Tunnel Initiative, with leftover 2024 Feb. 9 / Nov. 22 dates labeled separately — is on Michigan EQIP high tunnel ranking. Take those pages to the county office.
Compare kits on the index or the five-brand Bootstrap vs Rimol vs FarmTek vs TVH vs Grower's Solution page. Read the lumber and freight rows before you treat a “kit” as a finished building. If you want the 14×20 SKUs only, use the 14×20 comparison. For 20×40, use the 20×40 comparison. For 20×60, use the 20×60 comparison. For 20×80, use the 20×80 comparison. For 30×48, use the 30×48 comparison. For 30×72, use the 30×72 comparison. For the size map — 14×20 through 30×96 — use the high-tunnel size hub. For kit plus listed freight on a 30×96, use the 30×96 cost page. For which kits advertise free shipping versus zoned or quote freight — not a rate card — use high-tunnel kit freight vs free shipping. If you are choosing a peaked arch versus a round hoop, start with gothic vs Quonset. For a movable caterpillar versus a fixed high tunnel, start with caterpillar vs high tunnel. For the broader low-tunnel / caterpillar / hobby-PC decision, use high tunnel alternatives. For tomatoes inside a high tunnel — clips, twine, drip, and film, not a yield table — use high-tunnel tomatoes. For strawberries inside a high tunnel — plasticulture, drip tape, mulch, and film, not a yield table — use high-tunnel strawberries. For cut flowers inside a high tunnel — tomato rotation, 6-inch mesh, drip tape, and film, not a yield table — use high-tunnel cut flowers. For winter lettuce inside a high tunnel — season extension, row cover, drip, and film, not a yield table — use high-tunnel winter lettuce. For the Amazon replacement-parts directory — film, wiggle, drip, shade, anchors, roll-up, row cover — not a kit — use high-tunnel replacement parts. For 6-mil film replacement on Amazon — not a kit — use high-tunnel plastic replacement. For drip tubing, emitters, filter, and regulator — not a kit — use high-tunnel drip irrigation. For 30–70% shade cloth over the film — not a kit — use high-tunnel shade cloth. For lock channel and spring wire that hold that film — not a kit — use high-tunnel wiggle wire. For screw-in anchors and landscape staples — not a kit — use high-tunnel ground anchors. For whether the listed kit price includes lumber — steel, buy-local, or brackets — use does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. For roll-up sides and sidewall ventilation — included, optional, omitted, or not stated — use high-tunnel roll-up sides. For end walls and doors — steel, zipper add-on, brackets, or left open — use high-tunnel end walls. For HAF circulation fans, shutter exhaust, thermostats, and wax auto vents — not a kit — use high-tunnel ventilation fans. For winter heat — inner frost cloth, vented heaters, electric mats, thermostats, CO alarms — not a kit — use how to heat a high tunnel. For sidewall and end-wall insect / exclusion netting — Cornell 80-gram SWD, zipper ends — not a kit — use high-tunnel insect netting. For the floor — woven landscape fabric vs plastic mulch vs bare soil, burn holes, staples, aisles — not a kit — use high-tunnel ground cover / weed barrier. For two 6-mil layers with an inflation blower — air gap, outside air, lock channel, ¼-inch pressure — not a kit — use high-tunnel double-poly inflation. For torn film — UV repair tape, poly-patch, Gorilla sandwich, batten strap — not a kit — use high-tunnel plastic repair tape. For ground posts, ground stakes, and vendor wind copy — not a load table — use high-tunnel ground posts.
Ask the six county-office questions (ranking date, HU advance, inspection deadline, taxability, vendor letter, practice code). The HU advance itself is copied on EQIP advance payment. Building permits versus agricultural exemption — always a county answer — sit on high-tunnel permits vs ag exemption.
Commercially manufactured kits stay on the vendor product pages. These Amazon listings are film, lock channel, staples, anchors, and EMT straps growers often buy after the kit lands. Titles and prices were copied from live amazon.com product pages 7 September 2026, about 15:36 UTC. A missing featured price stays an em dash. Ratings are not copied.
Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.