Roll-up sides · sidewall ventilation · not a kit
High-tunnel roll-up sides: which kits include them
Growers search roll-up sides and sidewall ventilation after a kit price looks like a finished house. Tonight’s vendor pages do not agree. Some ship a T-handle or gearbox curtain with the listed package. Some sell a sidewall bundle only with the steel kit. Some print “NOT INCLUDED.” Essential Gothic’s include list does not name the sides at all. This page copies those sentences from live product pages and Shopify JSON — it does not invent a curtain height or an EQIP sidewall dollar.
Vendor copy retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC. Featured Amazon prices for a hand crank, snap clamps, spring wire, lock channel, and a 15×40 6-mil sheet copied 14 September 2026, about 03:09 UTC. A deluxe two-crank kit opened without a featured offer and stays off the priced table. EQIP language is the structure-only wording already on what EQIP will not pay for. No USDA payment dollar is invented here.
Home: Tunnel Spec. Kit index: commercially manufactured kits. Size map: high-tunnel sizes. Essential vs All-Metal on 14×20 and 20×80. 30×96 packages: 30×96 cost. Film: plastic replacement. Hip lock: wiggle wire. Boards: does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. End walls: high-tunnel end walls. Active fans / HAF / thermostats: high-tunnel ventilation fans. Insect / exclusion netting under the roll-up: high-tunnel insect netting. Ground posts: high-tunnel ground posts. County inspection: EQIP checklist.
Four answers, not one “kit”
A listed kit price is metal, film, and hardware the vendor named — or it is not. A roll-up side is a sidewall curtain on a pipe with a crank, T-handle, or gearbox. An 8×8 roll-up garage door on Rimol’s page is a door option, not a sidewall.
- Included in the listed package. Rimol High Tunnel and Nor'Easter Basic name roll-up sides with a T-handle kit. Haven says they come standard. Guardian pairs geared cranks with the high sidewall. Tunnel Vision Hoops full-package specs name gear boxes and anti-billow rope. GreenhouseKits1 lists 5:1 gear-ratio side walls. Ledgewood complete packages include roll-up sides and poly. Hortitech 20×80 NRCS kits list a manual roll-up ventilation package.
- Optional / add-on. Bootstrap Round All-Metal Available Options names Roll Up Side Kits. Essential Round Available Add-on Options names Roll-up sides and Automated roll-up sides. Those are manufacturer SKUs, not Amazon kits.
- Not included. Glacier and Super Duty print the same sentence: endwall kits, roll-up sides, door, and 2×4s are not in the kit. Super Duty’s 3.5-foot sidewall is frame height, not a curtain.
- Not stated. Essential Gothic’s include list is the frame, endwall uprights with door, purlins, bracing, 6-mil film, lock channel, and spring wire. Roll-up sides are not named as included and are not listed as an add-on on that page tonight.
EQIP pays for the structure
Sidewall hardware is not a second EQIP practice on the national FAQ. Financial assistance stays on the structure itself. This page does not invent a roll-up-side payment.
Under the High Tunnel System Initiative, financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself. Electricity, venting systems, lighting, etc. can be installed providing the additions meets manufacturer’s designs and specifications. However, the grower is responsible for those costs.Source: USDA NRCS High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ (Updated November 2024; Oregon-branded).
Electricity, venting, and lighting sit on the grower in that FAQ. A hand crank, snap clamps, and a sidewall sheet are the same kind of grower-supplied material when the product page says they are not in the kit. The FAQ still requires a commercially manufactured kit. It does not publish a sidewall payment rate. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Checklist: EQIP county inspection.
Sourced kit roll-up table
Copied 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC. Kit CTAs stay on manufacturer pages — not Amazon. A silent page prints an em dash.
| Vendor / kit | Roll-up sides? | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-MetalOn the 9-kit index. | Optional — Roll Up Side Kits | Kit include list is the steel frame, door, lock channel, spring wire, and 6-mil film. Available Options names Roll Up Side Kits. A separate Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal Kit is sold only with an all-metal hoop-house kit. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Essential GothicOn the 9-kit index. | — (not stated on the vendor page) | Tonight’s include list is the metal frame, endwall uprights with door, purlins, corner bracing, 6-mil plastic, lock channel, and spring wire. Roll-up sides are not named as included and are not listed as an add-on on this product page. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Essential RoundOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Optional — listed add-on | Include list is frame, endwall uprights, 6-mil film, lock channel, and hardware. Available Add-on Options names Roll-up sides and Insect netting for roll-up sides, plus Automated roll-up sides. Not a 9-kit index row. |
| Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)On the 9-kit index. | Included in Basic — T-handle kit | Basic includes roll-up sides with a T-handle kit. Standard upgrades to gearbox operators. Upgraded is automated roll-up sides with motors and an environmental controller. An 8×8 roll-up garage door is a separate door option, not a sidewall. |
| Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)On size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included in Basic — T-handle kit | Same Basic / Standard / Upgraded roll-up language as High Tunnel tonight. Sibling of High Tunnel, not averaged with it. |
| Farmers Friend — HavenOn the 9-kit index. | Included — standard | 2025 refresh copy names roll-up sides with larger ropes. A later sentence says roll-up sides come standard with every Haven. |
| Farmers Friend — GuardianOn the 9-kit index. | Included — geared cranks | Feature list names roll-up sides. Product copy pairs 6.5-foot vertical sidewalls with geared roll-up side cranks. No separate add-on price for the sides on this page. |
| Grower's Solution — 30′ GlacierOn the 9-kit index. | Not included | Same not-included sentence as Super Duty tonight: endwall kits, roll-up sides, door, and 2×4s are not in the kit. No roll-up dollar on this product page. |
| Grower's Solution — 30′ Super DutyOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Not included | Identical not-included sentence to Glacier. 3.5-foot sidewalls are the frame height, not a roll-up curtain. Priced on the 30×48 / 30×72 / 30×96 pages. |
| Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index. | Included in full-package spec | ROLL-UP SIDES line: gear boxes with internal brake and crank handle, plus anti-billow rope. Quote only — no list price tonight. |
| Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index. | Included in full-package spec | ROLL-UP SIDES line names 7:1 ratio gear boxes with internal brake and crank handle. Quote only. |
| GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel KitOn the 9-kit index. | Included — 5:1 gear-ratio roll-up | Include list names 5:1 gear-ratio roll-up side walls. Displayed price does not enumerate a size. 2×4s for the perimeter are not included. |
| Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages vs roll-up-only listOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included in complete packages | 2026 sheet: complete packages include the frame, crossties, roll-up sides, and poly film. A separate roll-up price list sits below the frame list (2 sides: 48′ $440, 72′ $620, 96′ $800). Frame-only rows are not a complete package. |
| Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / trussOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — manual roll-up | All three PDPs tonight list a Ventilation Package: Manual Roll-up sides, Wind Retention kit, Passive Ventilation. Include lists also name Roll-Up Sides. Quonset include-list template still says “Semi-Gable Frame” on that card — do not treat that label as the arch type. |
Quotes copied tonight
- Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal
Available Options Roll Up Side Kits Double Layer with Inflation Blower Insect Screen Kit Shade Cloth Kit (Black or White).
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic
This kit includes the metal frame, endwall uprights with door, purlins, corner bracing, 6 mil UV treated plastic, and all the hardware you need to assemble your structure.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round
Available Add-on Options Double-layer plastic with an inflation blower kit Roll-up sides Insect netting for roll-up sides … Automated roll-up sides.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)
Basic Package 2 ft. x 4ft. end wall framing brackets Single poly for the roof Roll-up sides with T-handle kit. All wirelock necessary. Standard Package … Roll-up sides with gearbox operators. Upgraded Package … Automated roll-up sides with motors and environmental controller.
Source: Rimol — High Tunnel 30 × 96. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)
Basic Package 2 ft. x 4 ft. end wall framing brackets Single poly for the roof Roll-up sides with T-handle kit All wirelock necessary Standard Package … Roll-up sides with gearbox operators.
Source: Rimol — Nor'Easter 30 × 96. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Farmers Friend — Haven
With roll-up sides featuring larger, stronger ropes for climate control… roll-up sides come standard with every Haven High Tunnel, ensuring the perfect balance of air circulation for your crops.
Source: Farmers Friend — Haven High Tunnel. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Farmers Friend — Guardian
Featuring our largest-ever roll-up sides for improved climate control… Roll-up sides + TONS of airflow… the high sidewall design paired with the geared roll-up side cranks allow you to easily adjust ventilation.
Source: Farmers Friend — Guardian High Tunnel. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Grower's Solution — 30′ Glacier
Endwall kits, roll up sides, door, and 2X4s for base and ends are NOT INCLUDED in kit.
Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Glacier Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Grower's Solution — 30′ Super Duty
Endwall kits, roll up sides, door, and 2X4s for base and ends are NOT INCLUDED in kit.
Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Super Duty Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY Kit
ROLL-UP SIDES Operators - Gear boxes with internal brake and crank handle Hip-Rail - Aluminum Double Channel Hip Rail Baseboard - Galvanized Steel Baseboards Anti-Billow - Polyester anti-billow rope and Hardware.
Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY Kit
ROLL-UP SIDES Operators - 7:1 Ratio Gear boxes with internal brake and crank handle Hip-Rail - Aluminum Double Channel Hip Rail Baseboard - Galvanized Steel Baseboards Anti-Billow - Polyester anti-billow rope and Hardware.
Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit
wiggle wire and channel for base and end walls 5:1 Gear ratio roll-up side walls What's not included: Ground cover (in picture) Irrigation lines (in picture) 2x4s for the perimeter base and end walls.
Source: GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages vs roll-up-only list
The first one is the price for popular complete packages including the frame, crossties, roll up sides and poly film. The third list is for just roll up sides. Either one or two sides are listed.
Source: Ledgewood Farm — 2026 pricing information. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
- Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / truss
Ventilation Package Manual Roll-up sides - Wind Retention kit - Passive Ventilation. Included with this greenhouse kit: … Roll-Up Sides 6 mil Greenhouse Plastic.
Source: Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS kits. Retrieved 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC.
Ledgewood two-side list (manufacturer)
The 2026 pricing sheet lists complete packages (frame, crossties, roll-up sides, and poly) separately from a roll-up-only list. Two-side dollars copied 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC from Ledgewood Farm pricing information. Frame-only rows are not this list.
| Length | Two sides (USD) |
|---|---|
| 48′ | $440 |
| 72′ | $620 |
| 96′ | $800 |
Amazon sidewall hardware, not kits
Where a kit omits the curtain or sells it as an add-on, these are common grower SKUs with a featured amazon.com price tonight — a hand crank, snap clamps, spring wire, lock channel, and a 15×40 6-mil sheet suitable for a side, not a 30×96 roof. Titles and featured prices were copied 14 September 2026, about 03:09 UTC. Kit frames stay on manufacturer product pages. Cover grade stays on plastic replacement. Hip lock stays on wiggle wire.
Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
| Kind | Pack | Listing | ASIN | USD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hand crank | 1 winch | Greenhouse Sidewall Manual Hand Crank Winch for Greenhouse Ventilation Jiggly GreenhouseIn stock. Listing copy: 4:1 gear, self-locking, max roll 295 ft; winch and screws only — ¾-inch EMT not included. Sibling ASIN B085TQK23N opened with the same title and $49.99. | B07QDPC5TC | $49.99 |
| Snap clamp | 20-pack · ¾-in EMT | Jiggly Greenhouse® Snap On Clamp for Securing Plastic Film, Shade Cloth, Greenhouse Coverings to 3/4" [1" OD] EMT Conduit or PVC Pipe (Pack of 20)In stock. Listing copy: place clamps every 2 ft. Pack size is not a house bill of materials. | B08DXXJX9Y | $21.50 |
| Spring wire | 10-pack · 6.5 ft | Bootstrap Farmer 10 Pack of 6.5 ft PVC Coated Spring Wire for Greenhouse Lock Channel | Prevents Tearing of Plastic Film CoveringIn stock. Hip-board lock for a roll-up curtain. Channel compared on the wiggle-wire page. | B01A8NY1O4 | $42.99 |
| Channel + wire | 20 of each | Bootstrap Farmer Spring Wire & Lock Channel 20 of Each Wiggle Locking Greenhouse Plastic Shade ClothIn stock. Same 20-of-each bundle already on the wiggle-wire page. Featured price unchanged tonight. | B01BC4HBQI | $190.99 |
| 6-mil side sheet | 15×40 ft | VEVOR Greenhouse Plastic Sheeting 15 x 40 ft, 6 Mil Thickness UV Resistant Clear Polyethylene Film, Hoop Green House Cover for Farms, Agriculture, GardenIn stock. Featured NEW offer $45.11 (a second priceAmount $50.90 was also on the page). 15×40 is not a 30×96 sidewall takeoff. | B09HCHZNCL | $45.11 |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Opened and skipped: B084QG3SY3 Greenhouse Ventilation Kit Deluxe, 2 Hand Cranks and 10 Film Clips — Product page opened. No featured priceAmount.; B085TQM1ZM Greenhouse Sidewall Manual Hand Crank Winch (2) — 404 tonight.
Bootstrap Farmer manufacturer pages
Catalog prices copied from live Shopify product JSON 14 September 2026, about 03:08 UTC. These are manufacturer URLs, not Amazon. Awin tracking for Bootstrap is not invented here. The DIY curtain kit is for the DIY / Essential family; EMT conduit is not included. The All-Metal bundle is sold only with an all-metal hoop-house kit and includes conduit.
| Product | Variant | USD |
|---|---|---|
| DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain KitDesigned for the DIY kit, not the All-Metal Kit. EMT conduit not included. 2 cranks, hip lock channel, ¾-inch couplings, snap clamps, eye bolts. | 20' | $269.99 |
| DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain KitSame DIY family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_DIY_40ft. | 40' | $329.99 |
| DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain KitSame DIY family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_DIY_60ft. | 60' | $399.99 |
| DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain KitSame DIY family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_DIY_80ft. | 80' | $499.99 |
| DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain KitSame DIY family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_DIY_100ft. Page says the crank can roll sidewalls up to 150 feet. | 100' | $549.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitOnly sold as part of a purchase of an all-metal hoop house kit. Includes conduit, couplings, snap clamps, winches, lock channel, and spring wire for both sides. | 20ft | $329.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitSame All-Metal family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_AMK_40ft. | 40ft | $457.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitSame All-Metal family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_AMK_60ft. | 60ft | $611.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitSame All-Metal family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_AMK_80ft. | 80ft | $724.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitSame All-Metal family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_AMK_100ft. | 100ft | $845.99 |
| Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal KitSame All-Metal family. Variant KIT_GH_ROLLUP_AMK_150ft. | 150ft | $1,299.99 |
Packs, not a house takeoff
- Jiggly hand crank (B07QDPC5TC). Featured $49.99. Listing copy: 4:1, self-locking; ¾-inch EMT not included. Sibling ASIN B085TQK23N opened with the same title and $49.99 and is not a second row.
- Snap clamps (B08DXXJX9Y). 20-pack, $21.50. Listing copy says every 2 ft. That is not a 20×40 or 30×96 bill of materials.
- Spring wire (B01A8NY1O4) and 20-of-each (B01BC4HBQI). $42.99 and $190.99. Same lock hardware already compared on wiggle wire.
- VEVOR 15×40 6-mil (B09HCHZNCL). Featured NEW $45.11. A second priceAmount $50.90 was also on the page. 15×40 is not a 30×96 sidewall takeoff. Larger sheets stay on plastic replacement.
Boards stay on kit lumber. Hold-downs stay on ground anchors. Shade stays on shade cloth. Drip stays on drip irrigation.
FAQ
- Do high-tunnel kits include roll-up sides?
- It depends on the product page. Tonight Rimol Basic, Haven, Guardian, Tunnel Vision Hoops full-package specs, GreenhouseKits1, Ledgewood complete packages, and Hortitech 20×80 NRCS kits include roll-up sides or name them on the include list. Bootstrap Round All-Metal and Essential Round list roll-up sides as options or add-ons. Glacier and Super Duty say roll-up sides are not included. Essential Gothic’s include list does not name them.
- What is a roll-up side?
- A sidewall curtain of greenhouse film (or insect netting) that wraps onto a pipe — often ¾-inch EMT — and is raised or lowered with a hand crank, T-handle, or gearbox. Hip-board lock channel holds the top of the curtain. Snap clamps hold the film to the pipe. It is sidewall ventilation, not an 8×8 roll-up garage door.
- Does EQIP pay extra for roll-up sides?
- The national High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ says financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself, and that the grower is responsible for electricity, venting, lighting, and similar additions. It does not publish a roll-up-side payment. Do not invent an EQIP sidewall dollar. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
- What does Bootstrap Farmer sell separately?
- The DIY Greenhouse Roll-Up Side Curtain Kit (20′ $269.99 through 100′ $549.99) is for the DIY / Essential family; EMT conduit is not included. The Sidewall Bundle for All-Metal Kit (20 ft $329.99 through 150 ft $1,299.99 copied tonight) is sold only with an all-metal hoop-house kit and includes conduit. Those are manufacturer pages, not Amazon.
- Can I size a house from the Amazon 15×40 film or a 20-pack of clamps?
- No. The VEVOR sheet is 15×40 ft. The clamp pack is 20 pieces with a “every 2 ft” note on the listing — that is not a 20×40 or 30×96 takeoff. Pack size is copied as printed.
Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.