Size hub · width × length · not a load table
High tunnel sizes: 14×20, 20×40, 20×60, 20×80, 30×48, 30×72, 30×96 and what they fit
Growers shop a handful of commercial rectangles: 14×20, 20×40, 20×60, 20×80, 30×48, 30×72, 30×96. This page is the map — what “size” means on a vendor page, which of those rectangles already appear on the kit index, and which already have deeper notes: 14×20 kits, 20×40 kits, 20×60 kits, 20×80 kits, 30×48 kits, 30×72 kits, and 30×96 cost. For the Amazon replacement-parts directory — not a kit — see high-tunnel replacement parts. For 6-mil cover replacement — not a kit — see high-tunnel plastic replacement. For summer shade over that film — not a kit — see high-tunnel shade cloth. For lock channel and spring wire that hold that film — not a kit — see high-tunnel wiggle wire. For screw-in anchors and landscape staples — not a kit — see high-tunnel ground anchors. 20×48 stays a hub-only gap — no priced SKU, no stub page.
Kit figures below are the same numbers copied on 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Peak height, wind ratings, snow-load pounds per square foot, and EQIP payment dollars are not invented here.
What “size” means on a vendor page
Almost every kit PDP in this directory writes size as width × length in feet. That is the ground rectangle — 20×40 is 800 square feet; 30×96 is 2,880. It is not peak height, not sidewall height, and not “how many beds it holds.”
Peak height is a separate field. Bootstrap Farmer states peaks by width (Round 14′ ~9′4″ / 20′ ~11′4″; Gothic 14′ 12′1″ / 20′ 15′8″). Glacier’s 30′ page says about 14′. Rimol’s 30×96 page does not state a peak in this retrieval. Compare profiles on gothic vs Quonset — do not read a size label as a snow-load rating. A movable caterpillar versus these fixed high-tunnel sizes is on caterpillar vs high tunnel. Tomato bed language from extension pages — not a plant count — is on high-tunnel tomatoes. Strawberry plasticulture language — not a bed plan — is on high-tunnel strawberries. Cut-flower rotation and netting language — not a bed plan — is on high-tunnel cut flowers. Winter-lettuce season-extension and row-cover language — not a bed plan — is on high-tunnel winter lettuce. Official USDA zone 4 versus zone 8 hardiness bands — not a required width × length — are on high tunnel USDA zone 4 vs zone 8. Low tunnel, caterpillar, and 6×8 hobby polycarbonate versus these commercial rectangles are on high tunnel alternatives.
Length options are not universal. Bootstrap Farmer lists a short ladder. Glacier lists many 30-foot lengths from 32 through 120, including 48, 72, and 96. Rimol prices one 30×96 Basic package and names related sizes, including 30×48, without prices in this retrieval. Haven and Guardian often leave length unlabeled next to the dollar figure. Tunnel Vision Hoops 20-foot and 30-foot pages are quote-only. If the page does not name the length beside the price, this site prints an em dash — it does not guess 24, 48, or 96.
Common sizes already on the kit index
Shopper sizes first. Dollars are kit list prices from the index, not delivered totals. Freight, lumber, doors, and film extras stay on the kit blocks, the kit lumber page, the roll-up sides page, the end walls page, the ground posts page, or the 30×96 cost page.
| Size | Ground | Priced on the index | Deeper page |
|---|---|---|---|
| 14×20 | 280 sq ft |
Index still lists Round All-Metal and Essential Gothic 14×20. The dedicated comparison adds Essential Round door options plus Premium and Gothic All-Metal SKUs from a 2 September 2026 Shopify retrieval. | 14×20 kit comparison |
| 20×40 | 800 sq ft |
Only two index kits list a 20×40 SKU with a price. Haven’s displayed price does not name a length. | 20×40 kit comparison |
| 20×48 | 960 sq ft | — No priced 20×48 SKU is on the nine-kit index. Bootstrap 20′ lengths in this retrieval are 20, 40, 60, 80, 100, and 150 ft (Round) or 20–100 ft (Gothic). Rimol’s related-size list names 20×96, not 20×48. Do not invent a 20×48 street price. | Planned note — not a stub URL |
| 20×60 | 1,200 sq ft |
Index still lists Round All-Metal and Essential Gothic 20×60. The dedicated comparison adds Essential Round door options plus Premium and Gothic All-Metal SKUs from a 3 September 2026 Shopify retrieval. | 20×60 kit comparison |
| 20×80 | 1,600 sq ft |
Index still lists Round All-Metal and Essential Gothic 20×80. The dedicated comparison adds Essential Round door options, Premium and Gothic All-Metal, three Hortitech Direct NRCS 20×80 SKUs, and Grower's Solution’s 20′ low-sidewall greenhouse (not an NRCS high-tunnel kit) from a 4 September 2026 Shopify retrieval. | 20×80 kit comparison |
| 30×48 | 1,440 sq ft |
Index still lists Glacier 30×48. The dedicated comparison adds Super Duty 16/14 ga, Rimol High Tunnel and Nor'Easter Basic (siblings at the same dollars), and Ledgewood 30×48-1.9″ complete packages from a 5 September 2026 retrieval. | 30×48 kit comparison |
| 30×72 | 2,160 sq ft |
Index still lists Glacier 30×72. The dedicated comparison adds Super Duty 16/14 ga, Rimol High Tunnel and Nor'Easter Basic (siblings at the same dollars), and Ledgewood 30×72-1.9″ complete packages from a 6 September 2026 retrieval. | 30×72 kit comparison |
| 30×96 | 2,880 sq ft |
Rimol figure is the Basic package on that product page, not a delivered total. Freight is zoned and extra. Super Duty, Nor'Easter, and Ledgewood 30×96 figures live on the cost page, not as extra rows in the nine-kit index. | 30×96 cost notes |
Bootstrap Farmer length ladders
Round All-Metal lists 14- and 20-foot widths at 20, 40, 60, 80, 100, and 150 ft. Essential Gothic lists the same widths at 20, 40, 60, 80, and 100 ft — no 150 ft SKU on that page. Source product pages stay on the kit index.
| Size | Kit $ |
|---|---|
| 14×20 | $3,624.99 |
| 14×40 | $5,101.99 |
| 14×60 | $6,596.99 |
| 14×80 | $8,073.99 |
| 14×100 | $9,591.99 |
| 14×150 | $13,384.99 |
| 20×20 | $4,639.99 |
| 20×40 | $6,277.99 |
| 20×60 | $8,120.99 |
| 20×80 | $9,944.99 |
| 20×100 | $11,810.99 |
| 20×150 | $16,755.99 |
| Size | Kit $ |
|---|---|
| 14×20 | $3,332 |
| 14×40 | $4,592 |
| 14×60 | $6,300 |
| 14×80 | $7,280 |
| 14×100 | $8,680 |
| 20×20 | $4,000 |
| 20×40 | $5,200 |
| 20×60 | $6,600 |
| 20×80 | $8,480 |
| 20×100 | $9,800 |
Glacier 30-foot lengths, including 48 / 72 / 96
Grower's Solution Glacier is a 30-foot gothic. The product page table in this retrieval runs 32 through 120 ft. End walls are not in the kit; the collection-page end-wall figure stays on the Glacier kit block. Freight is quoted separately.
| Length | Kit $ |
|---|---|
| 30×32 | $4,320.95 |
| 30×36 | $4,722.95 |
| 30×40 | $5,142.95 |
| 30×44 | $5,556.95 |
| 30×48 | $5,957.95 |
| 30×52 | $6,359.95 |
| 30×56 | $6,777.95 |
| 30×60 | $7,195.95 |
| 30×64 | $7,591.95 |
| 30×68 | $8,015.95 |
| 30×72 | $8,416.95 |
| 30×76 | $8,833.95 |
| 30×80 | $9,231.95 |
| 30×84 | $9,650.95 |
| 30×88 | $10,052.95 |
| 30×92 | $10,470.95 |
| 30×96 | $10,903.95 |
| 30×100 | $11,289.95 |
| 30×120 | $12,954.95 |
Rimol 30×96, and the named 30×48
Rimol 30×96 High Tunnel Basic package is $16,803 in this retrieval. Related sizes named on that page: 22×96, 20×96, 18×96, 26×96, 30×48. Those related rows did not carry prices here. Doors and freight zones are on the kit block and the 30×96 cost page. Pickup is listed at $0; treating Basic as delivered is a mistake.
Length unlabeled, or quote only
These index kits are real product pages. They are not a 14×20, 20×40, or 30×96 just because a grower hoped they were.
- Farmers Friend Haven. Width: 16 ft. Length: 24–120 ft (nine options; 24, 48, and 96 ft are named). The other six lengths were not named in this retrieval.. Displayed price $3,348 does not name a length. Do not assume 24 ft.
- Farmers Friend Guardian. Width: 21 ft. Length: not labeled next to the displayed price. Displayed price $4,758 does not name a length. Length is not invented here.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops 30′ High Tunnel DIY Kit. Width: 30 ft. Length: not stated as a priced SKU on this page. Quote only. A price is not invented here.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops 20′ High Tunnel DIY Kit. Width: 20 ft. Length: not stated as a priced SKU on this page. Quote only. A price is not invented here.
- GreenhouseKits1 NRCS High Tunnel Kit. Width: not enumerated next to the displayed price. Length: not enumerated next to the displayed price. Displayed price $2,550 does not enumerate a size. Do not treat this as a 30×96.
Beds, aisles, tractor pass
Square footage is a shopping label. The useful question is what fits across the width after you keep an aisle you will actually walk.
- 14-foot — a walk-in hoop. Sketch two or three beds and the path between them. A riding tractor is usually the wrong picture. Priced Bootstrap 14×20 SKUs are on the 14×20 comparison.
- 20-foot — the size many market growers start with. 20×40 (800 sq ft), 20×60 (1,200 sq ft), and 20×80 (1,600 sq ft) have dedicated comparisons. Same 20-foot cross-section; length is the difference. TVH’s 20-foot page is quote-by-length, not a priced SKU. Priced Bootstrap 20×80 SKUs: 20×80 comparison.
- 30-foot — the width people ask about when they want a tractor or walk-behind pass plus beds. 30×48 (1,440 sq ft), 30×72 (2,160 sq ft), and 30×96 (2,880 sq ft) have dedicated pages. Rimol’s 30-foot pages state 6′ side walls; Super Duty states 3′6″ sidewalls; Glacier’s 30′ page does not state sidewall. Priced 30-foot SKUs: 30×48 comparison, 30×72 comparison.
Peak and profile change headroom more than the size stamp does. If you need standing room at the hip, read gothic vs Quonset before you stretch a 20-foot hoop to 80 feet and call it “bigger.” A lower movable hoop versus a walk-in house is on caterpillar vs high tunnel.
EQIP footprint questions — not payment rates
Pennsylvania NRCS copy retrieved with the checklist says: “According to NRCS practice standards a seasonal high tunnel is a structure, at least six feet in height…” Source: USDA NRCS Pennsylvania — Seasonal High Tunnel System for Crops. That is one state office page. It is not a national payment schedule.
Ask the county office, in writing if you can:
- What ground rectangle will you measure — kit label, interior, or including end-wall overhang?
- Do orientation, slope, and setbacks change what you will contract? The Pennsylvania page notes slope should not exceed 5%.
- Does this office require a commercially manufactured kit, and which practice standard are you using this year?
- After purchase, what is the deadline to install and inspect?
Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not publish EQIP dollars. Print the 2026 county-inspection checklist and take it with you.
Upcoming size notes (hub only)
20×48 stays on this hub — no priced SKU, no thin stub URL. Dedicated 30×72 comparison is live.
- 20×48 — 960 sq ft. No priced 20×48 SKU is on the nine-kit index. Bootstrap 20′ lengths in this retrieval are 20, 40, 60, 80, 100, and 150 ft (Round) or 20–100 ft (Gothic). Rimol’s related-size list names 20×96, not 20×48. Do not invent a 20×48 street price.
Parts · not kits
Amazon replacement parts (film and hardware, not a kit)
Kit frames stay on manufacturer product pages. These Amazon listings are 6-mil film, lock channel, earth anchors, and staples growers buy after a house is up. Titles and featured prices were copied from live amazon.com product pages 7 September 2026, about 15:36 UTC. A missing featured price stays an em dash. Ratings are not copied.
Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Lock channel and spring-wire packs are compared on high-tunnel wiggle wire. Ground anchors and landscape staples are compared on high-tunnel ground anchors. Kit lumber inclusion — steel vs buy-local vs brackets — is compared on does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. Roll-up sides and sidewall curtains are compared on high-tunnel roll-up sides. End walls and doors are compared on high-tunnel end walls. HAF circulation, shutter exhaust, thermostats, and wax auto vents are compared on high-tunnel ventilation fans. Winter heat — frost cloth, hoops, heater thermostat, heat mat, CO alarm — is compared on how to heat a high tunnel. Sidewall and end-wall insect / exclusion netting is compared on high-tunnel insect netting. Floor cover — woven landscape fabric, burn holes, staples, aisles — is compared on high-tunnel ground cover / weed barrier. Double-poly inflation blowers, inner/outer 6-mil, poly tape, and a manometer are compared on high-tunnel double-poly inflation. Plastic repair tape, poly-patch, UV greenhouse tape, spring wire, and snap clamps are compared on high-tunnel plastic repair tape. Ground posts and extra screw-in hold-downs are compared on high-tunnel ground posts. Caterpillar versus high tunnel is compared on caterpillar vs high tunnel. Tomato clips, twine, drip, and film for a crop house are compared on high-tunnel tomatoes. Strawberry plasticulture parts — drip tape, mulch, fabric, staples, film — are compared on high-tunnel strawberries. Cut-flower netting, drip tape, fabric, and film are compared on high-tunnel cut flowers. Winter-lettuce frost blanket, row cover, drip, and film are compared on high-tunnel winter lettuce.
FAQ
- What does “size” mean on a high-tunnel kit page?
- On the vendor pages in this index, size is width × length in feet — the ground rectangle. Peak height is a separate field and is often missing. Length options change by vendor: Bootstrap Farmer lists a fixed ladder; Glacier lists many 30-foot lengths; Rimol’s 30×96 page prices one SKU and names related sizes; Haven and Guardian often leave length unlabeled next to the displayed price. Do not treat a displayed dollar figure as a 20×40 or 30×96 unless the page names that length.
- Which common sizes are actually priced on the Tunnel Spec kit index?
- Bootstrap Farmer Round All-Metal lists 14×20 through 14×150 and 20×20 through 20×150. Essential Gothic lists 14×20–14×100 and 20×20–20×100. Grower's Solution Glacier lists 30×32 through 30×120, including 30×48, 30×72, and 30×96. Rimol prices a 30×96 Basic package on the kit index; the dedicated 30×48 and 30×72 pages copy High Tunnel and Nor'Easter Basics at those lengths. Tunnel Vision Hoops 20-foot and 30-foot pages are quote-only. Farmers Friend Haven (16-foot) and Guardian (21-foot) show a price without a labeled length. GreenhouseKits1 shows a price without an enumerated size.
- How should I think about beds, aisles, and a tractor in a 14-, 20-, or 30-foot tunnel?
- Width is the constraint, not marketing square footage. A 14-foot hoop is a walk-in bed layout; a 20-foot hoop is the size many market growers sketch first; a 30-foot hoop is the width people ask about when they want a tractor or walk-behind pass plus beds. Count the beds and aisle you will actually walk, then ask whether your implement needs a stated sidewall or peak — those numbers are often “not stated on the vendor page.” Peak height belongs on the gothic vs Quonset page, not in a size label. This is planning language, not a planting chart.
- Does EQIP pay more for a bigger high-tunnel footprint?
- Tunnel Spec does not publish USDA or EQIP payment dollars. Practice rules, ranking, and any payment schedule are county decisions. Ask the county office what footprint they will measure, whether orientation and setbacks matter, and which practice standard they are using this year. Always: rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
- Why isn’t there a page for 20×48?
- 20×48 has no priced SKU on the nine-kit index, so it stays a hub-only gap — no thin stub URL. 14×20, 20×40, 20×60, 20×80, 30×48, 30×72, and 30×96 already have dedicated sourced pages. Do not invent a 20×48 street price.
Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes.