Skip to content

Independent kit notes · not USDA

Tunnel Spec

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Gaps stay blank.


Method · money · limits

About Tunnel Spec

Tunnel Spec is an independent public directory of commercially manufactured high-tunnel kits. It exists so a grower or EQIP applicant can compare what vendor pages actually say — including what they leave out — without wading through a stale supplier phone book.

How the numbers are made

On 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC we opened each product page listed in the kit index and copied prices, bow specs, film claims, lumber notes, freight sentences, and any NRCS marketing line. Every numeric field in the data module carries that source URL and retrieval timestamp. If the page was silent, the field is null and the site prints an em dash plus “not stated on the vendor page.”

We do not average blog “street prices.” We do not assume a displayed price is the 24-foot SKU. We do not treat GreenhouseKits1’s $2,550 as a 30×96. We do not invent a Tunnel Vision Hoops quote.

EQIP language

Requirement quotes come from the USDA NRCS Pennsylvania page Seasonal High Tunnel System for Crops, retrieved the same day. That is one state office page. Your county may rank, inspect, and pay differently. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. The checklist is a conversation sheet, not a legal opinion. Building permits and agricultural exemptions are local — see high-tunnel permits vs ag exemption. Used versus new commercial kits — FAQ: used systems may not be funded — is copied on used vs new high tunnel for EQIP. A hoop bender plus EMT or top rail versus a prefab kit is on hoop bender DIY vs prefab kit. Rimol Nor'Easter versus Bootstrap 30′ Round for snow — vendor copy only, no invented PSF — is on Nor'Easter vs Bootstrap 30′ snow. Farmers Friend storm-damage years versus Bootstrap All-Metal manufacturing-defect years and hoop gauges are on Farmers Friend warranty vs Bootstrap gauge. Vendor “NRCS approved / eligible / EQIP” sentences versus the FAQ manufactured-kit and structure-only rules are on NRCS approved high tunnel kits. Call the county planning/zoning office and the county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec is not legal advice.

Farmers Friend’s “bow spacing should be a maximum of 4 feet” line is labeled as vendor language. The Pennsylvania NRCS page does not state 4-foot spacing.

How we make money

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. Amazon links for film, lock channel, staples, anchors, EMT hardware, lumber / framing screws, sidewall roll-up hardware, end-wall / door hardware, ventilation fans / thermostats / auto vents, and plastic repair tape / poly-patch / batten strap use Associate ID tunnelspec-20. The Amazon-dense directory of those SKUs is high-tunnel replacement parts. Lock-channel packs are compared on high-tunnel wiggle wire. Anchors and staples are compared on high-tunnel ground anchors. Whether a listed kit price includes lumber is compared on does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. Roll-up sides and sidewall curtains are compared on high-tunnel roll-up sides. End walls and doors are compared on high-tunnel end walls. HAF circulation, shutter exhaust, thermostats, and wax auto vents are compared on high-tunnel ventilation fans. Winter heat — frost cloth, vented heaters, electric mats, and CO alarms — is compared on how to heat a high tunnel. Sidewall and end-wall insect / exclusion netting is compared on high-tunnel insect netting. Floor cover — woven landscape fabric vs plastic mulch vs bare soil — is compared on high-tunnel ground cover / weed barrier. Double-poly inflation — two 6-mil layers, outside-air blower, lock channel, ¼-inch pressure — is compared on high-tunnel double-poly inflation. Torn film — UV repair tape, poly-patch, Gorilla sandwich, batten strap — is compared on high-tunnel plastic repair tape. Ground posts, ground stakes, and vendor wind copy are compared on high-tunnel ground posts. Caterpillar versus high tunnel is compared on caterpillar vs high tunnel. Low tunnel, caterpillar, and hobby polycarbonate versus a commercial kit are compared on high tunnel alternatives. Growing tomatoes in a high tunnel — clips, twine, drip, film — is compared on high-tunnel tomatoes. Growing strawberries in a high tunnel — plasticulture, drip, mulch, film — is compared on high-tunnel strawberries. Growing cut flowers in a high tunnel — tomato rotation, 6-inch mesh, drip, film — is compared on high-tunnel cut flowers. Growing winter lettuce in a high tunnel — season extension, row cover, drip, film — is compared on high-tunnel winter lettuce. Bootstrap Farmer vs Rimol vs FarmTek / GrowSpan vs Tunnel Vision Hoops vs Grower's Solution is compared on the five-brand kit comparison. Free-ship sentences versus zoned or quote freight — not a carrier rate, and not a kit SKU on Amazon — are copied on high-tunnel kit freight vs free shipping. Hoop benders and EMT hardware on Amazon — not a kit — are on hoop bender DIY vs prefab kit. Commercially manufactured kits are not swapped to Amazon; those stay on the manufacturer product page.

Some kit outbound links are reserved for other networks (Awin and others). Until those IDs exist, Bootstrap Farmer links read NEXT_PUBLIC_AFFILIATE_BOOTSTRAP when that environment variable is set, or # if it is not. Every other vendor’s affiliate href is #. We do not mint fake tracking IDs. The real vendor product page is always cited so you can open the source we copied.

A commission does not change a copied number or a missing one. It does not mean a kit will pass inspection. Disclosure sits in the footer and on every page that carries product links, which is the FTC baseline we are writing to.

Vendors we skipped (on purpose)

Those names are here so you know the omission is documented, not an oversight.

Why not clone HighTunnels.org

HighTunnels.org’s supplier directory is a stale dump. Bootstrap Farmer is still listed at Ernul, North Carolina; live fabrication is in Texas. Tunnel Vision Hoops is listed with no website. This site is kit-versus-kit specs from current product pages. If someone later points a different domain at this project, the copy still has to stand on its own.

What is in the data set

9 kits. Full list on /kits. State landing pages are not generated except Texas ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-texas, California ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-california, Ohio ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-ohio, Pennsylvania ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-pennsylvania, New York ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-new-york, North Carolina ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-north-carolina, Washington ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-washington, and Michigan ranking on /eqip-high-tunnel-michigan. The ranking-window list is on /states.