Skip to content

Independent kit notes · not USDA

Tunnel Spec

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Gaps stay blank.


Lumber · baseboards · not a finished building

Does a high-tunnel kit include lumber?

Growers search that question after a kit price looks like a standing building. Tonight’s vendor pages do not agree. Some ship steel hip, base, and end walls. Some ship brackets and tell you to buy 2×4s or 2×6s at the lumber yard. Some stay silent. This page copies those sentences from live product pages and Shopify JSON — it does not invent a board count or a lumber invoice.

Vendor copy retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC. Featured Amazon prices for common grower hardware copied 13 September 2026, about 03:18 UTC. Eight- and ten-foot pressure-treated 2×4 catalog pages opened without a featured offer and stay off the priced table. EQIP language is the structure-only wording already on what EQIP will not pay for. No USDA payment dollar is invented here.

Kit index: commercially manufactured kits. 30×96 lumber gaps: 30×96 cost. Essential vs All-Metal on 14×20 and 20×80. Size map: high-tunnel sizes. County inspection: EQIP checklist. Sidewall curtains: high-tunnel roll-up sides. End walls and doors: high-tunnel end walls. Ground posts: high-tunnel ground posts.

Wood baseboard versus steel base rail on a hoopTwo schematic hoops. Left: a rectangular wood baseboard on the ground with a hip board higher on the bow. Right: a thin steel rail on the ground. Line drawing, not a photo.buy-local kitwood baseboardhipall-metal kitsteel base rail
Figure: schematic baseboard on the ground line versus a steel base rail. Hip board sits higher on the bow. Not a product photo.

Three answers, not one “kit”

A listed kit price is metal, film, and hardware the vendor named — or it is not. Hip boards sit higher on the bow. Baseboards sit on the ground line. End-wall framing is a third buy. Purlins on these pages are steel unless the vendor said otherwise.

EQIP pays for the structure

Grower-supplied boards are not a second kit. The national High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ keeps financial assistance on the structure itself.

Under the High Tunnel System Initiative, financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself. Electricity, venting systems, lighting, etc. can be installed providing the additions meets manufacturer’s designs and specifications. However, the grower is responsible for those costs.

Source: USDA NRCS High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ (Updated November 2024; Oregon-branded).

Electricity, venting, and lighting sit on the grower in that FAQ. Local 2×4s and 2×6s are the same kind of grower-supplied material when the PDP says they are not in the kit. The FAQ still requires a commercially manufactured kit. It does not publish a lumber payment rate. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Checklist: EQIP county inspection.

Sourced kit lumber table

Copied 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC. Kit CTAs stay on manufacturer pages — not Amazon. A silent page prints an em dash.

Vendor / kitLumber in listed price?Metal / in the kitGrower buys separately
Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-MetalOn the 9-kit index.No — steel hip, base, and end wallsListed kit is all-metal: steel hip/baseboards, steel end-wall design, prefabricated door and frame, ground posts, purlins, lock channel, spring wire, and 6-mil film.No local lumber list on this product page. The page says the price you see is the final price and there is no need to go to the store.
Bootstrap Farmer — Essential GothicOn the 9-kit index.No — buy hip and base boards locallyMetal frame, endwall uprights with door, purlins, corner bracing, 6-mil UV-treated plastic, and hardware. Brackets and fasteners are in the kit.Hip boards and baseboards. Purchase Locally chart (copied tonight): 14′ uses 2″×6″×8′ hip/base (12 / 24 / 40 / 50 / 64 pcs at 20 / 40 / 60 / 80 / 100 ft) plus 4 pcs 2″×6″×8′ endwall. 20′ uses the same hip/base counts plus 4 pcs 2″×6″×10′ endwall. That chart is not a lumber-yard invoice.
Bootstrap Farmer — Essential RoundOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row.No — buy hip and base boards locallyMetal frame, endwall uprights, 6-mil UV-treated plastic, and hardware. Order with an all-metal door kit or no door. An optional end-wall door frame kit is listed if you add lumber and a store-bought door.Hip boards and baseboards. Same Purchase Locally chart as Essential Gothic for hip/base (2″×6″×8′) and endwall (14′: 2″×6″×8′; 20′: 2″×6″×10′), plus 3 pcs 2″×4″×8′ door frame when that optional kit is used. Not a 9-kit index row — priced on the size pages.
Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)On the 9-kit index.No — 2×4 end-wall framing brackets, not lumberBasic: 2 ft × 4 ft end-wall framing brackets, single poly roof, roll-up sides with T-handle, wirelock. Bows, trusses, and five purlins are on the frame list. Standard and Upgraded add metal end-wall framing kits — still not a lumber-yard takeoff.The 2×4s those Basic brackets receive. No board count and no lumber dollar on the product page. Doors are priced separately.
Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)On size / cost pages, not an extra index row.No — 2×4 end-wall framing brackets, not lumberSame Basic / Standard / Upgraded package copy as High Tunnel tonight: Basic is 2 ft × 4 ft end-wall framing brackets; Standard and Upgraded are metal end-wall framing kits. Sibling of High Tunnel, not averaged with it.The 2×4s for those Basic brackets. No board count and no lumber dollar on the Nor'Easter page.
Farmers Friend — HavenOn the 9-kit index.No wood — metal baseboards includedComplete kit copy: every bow, bolt, and metal baseboard. 14-gauge galvanized baseboards. Hip channel and ground posts are named on the refresh list.End walls are add-ons (double zipper 16-ft listed). The page does not tell you to buy baseboard lumber.
Farmers Friend — GuardianOn the 9-kit index.Metal baseboards includedFeature list and product copy name metal baseboards with the stronger metal, wind bracing, and trusses. Extra plastic for end walls is not included.End walls are add-ons (DIY end wall 21′ listed). Extra end-wall plastic is not in the kit. No local lumber list for baseboards.
Grower's Solution — 30′ GlacierOn the 9-kit index.No — 2×4s, end walls, roll-up, and door not includedBows on 4′ centers, five purlins, 30″ ground stakes, 4-year 6-mil film (3 pieces including end walls), wire lock, wind bracing on houses 40′ and longer, hardware.Endwall kits, roll-up sides, door, and 2×4s for base and ends. Endwalls can be built from lumber bought locally or purchased separately. No board count on this product page.
Grower's Solution — 30′ Super DutyOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row.No — 2×4s, end walls, roll-up, and door not included1⅝″ bows (16 ga or 14 ga) on 4′ centers, 3.5′ sidewalls, triple purlin, 4-year 6-mil film (3 pieces including end walls), wire lock, wind bracing on houses 40′ and longer. Not a 9-kit index row — priced on the 30×48 / 30×72 / 30×96 pages.Same not-included sentence as Glacier tonight: endwall kits, roll-up sides, door, and 2×4s for base and ends. No board count on this product page.
Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index.Steel baseboards and aluminum hip — no lumber runFull-package spec: galvanized steel baseboards, aluminum double-channel hip rail, 2″ × 2″ square steel end-wall framing, five purlins, corner and peak braces, 4-year 6-mil IRAD, pre-hung door. Quote only — no list price tonight.The 30-foot page says a full package does not require sourced lumber, film, or plastic-attachment hardware. A custom package that differs from the standard package is a measured gap.
Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index.Steel baseboards and aluminum hipSpec list tonight: galvanized steel baseboards, aluminum double-channel hip rail, 2″ × 2″ square steel end-wall framing, three purlins, 4-year 6-mil IRAD, pre-hung door. Quote only.The “will not need to source lumber” sentence appears on the 30-foot page tonight, not on this 20-foot page. Do not copy that sentence onto the 20-foot SKU. Baseboards and hip on this spec are still steel / aluminum.
GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel KitOn the 9-kit index.No — 2×4s not included1⅜″ steel ground stakes, three center steel purlins, 6-mil 4-year film on top and both ends, hardware, wiggle wire and channel for base and end walls, 5:1 gear-ratio roll-up sides. Displayed price does not enumerate a size.2×4s for the perimeter base and end walls. Ground cover and irrigation lines in photos are also not included. End walls are left open for customization.
Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages (pricing sheet)On size / cost pages, not an extra index row.— (not stated on the vendor page)2026 pricing page: popular complete packages include the frame, crossties, roll-up sides, and poly film. Frame-only and roll-up-only lists sit below that.Lumber, end walls, and doors are not named on the pricing page. That gap stays an em dash — not a guessed board list.
Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / trussOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row.— (not stated on the vendor page)Quonset and Semi-Gable cards tonight: 1⅞″ 13 ga arch, 2⅜″ 13 ga sidewall, 13 ft peak; manual roll-up sides and wind-retention kit; 6-mil single-layer main cover; 9-mil woven endwall cover. Truss SKU include list names galvanized steel end walls, a 4′×7′ sliding door, roll-up sides, 6-mil plastic, and truss reinforcement.Lumber, 2×4s, and wooden baseboards are not mentioned on the three PDPs. Do not invent a lumber invoice or assume the woven endwall cover is a wood wall.

Quotes copied tonight

Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal

The steel construction removes the maintenance and rot concerns that come with wood… Pipes, door frames, & hip/baseboards feature clear coating on US-made galvanized pipes… All metal construction - Stronger than wood with no risk of rotting. All metal end wall design includes - a pre-made door frame and door with hardware.

Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic

You will purchase the material for the hip boards and baseboards locally… Baseboard and hip board materials are not included and should be purchased at your local hardware store. See our “Purchase Locally” chart below for help ordering all the lumber.

Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round

You will purchase the material for the hip boards and baseboards you want locally… Baseboard and hip board materials are not included and should be purchased at your local hardware store.

Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)

Basic Package 2 ft. x 4ft. end wall framing brackets Single poly for the roof Roll-up sides with T-handle kit. All wirelock necessary. Standard Package Metal end wall framing kits for both end walls.

Source: Rimol — High Tunnel 30 × 96. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)

Basic Package 2 ft. x 4 ft. end wall framing brackets Single poly for the roof Roll-up sides with T-handle kit All wirelock necessary Standard Package Metal end wall framing kits for both end walls.

Source: Rimol — Nor'Easter 30 × 96. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Haven

The all new metal baseboards eliminate wood rot… The Haven comes as a complete high tunnel kit, with nothing left out—Every bow, bolt, and metal baseboard is included!

Source: Farmers Friend — Haven High Tunnel. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Guardian

6.5-ft high vertical side walls 21-ft wide Metal baseboards… With the addition of … metal, reinforced wind bracing and trusses, and metal baseboards, the Guardian is our strongest tunnel to date.

Source: Farmers Friend — Guardian High Tunnel. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Grower's Solution — 30′ Glacier

Endwall kits, roll up sides, door, and 2X4s for base and ends are NOT INCLUDED in kit Endwalls can be constructed from lumber purchased locally or purchased separately.

Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Glacier Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Grower's Solution — 30′ Super Duty

Endwall kits, roll up sides, door, and 2X4s for base and ends are NOT INCLUDED in kit Endwalls can be constructed from lumber purchased locally or purchased separately.

Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Super Duty Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY Kit

you will not need to source lumber, greenhouse plastic, or plastic attachment hardware if you purchase a full package structure kit from Tunnel Vision Hoops LLC. … Hip-Rail - Aluminum Double Channel Hip Rail Baseboard - Galvanized Steel Baseboards … END-WALLS Framing - 2" x 2" Square Steel Tube.

Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY Kit

Hip-Rail - Aluminum Double Channel Hip Rail Baseboard - Galvanized Steel Baseboards … END-WALLS Framing - 2" x 2" Square Steel Tube, 16 gauge galv. steel tube.

Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit

What's not included: Ground cover (in picture) Irrigation lines (in picture) 2x4s for the perimeter base and end walls … End walls are left open for your customization.

Source: GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages (pricing sheet)

The first one is the price for popular complete packages including the frame, crossties, roll up sides and poly film.

Source: Ledgewood Farm — 2026 pricing information. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / truss

Frame Specs 1 7/8" 13ga arch - 2 3/8" 13ga sidewall - 13ft peak height … Main Covering- 6mil single layer, Endwall Covering- 9mil woven. Truss include list: Semi-Gable Frame Galvanized Steel End Walls 4’x7’ Sliding Door Roll-Up Sides 6 mil Greenhouse Plastic Truss Reinforcement.

Source: Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS kits. Retrieved 13 September 2026, about 03:16 UTC.

Amazon lumber and hardware, not kits

Where a kit tells you to buy boards locally, these are common grower SKUs with a featured amazon.com price tonight — a short construction 2×4 and exterior / structural screws. Titles and featured prices were copied 13 September 2026, about 03:18 UTC. Kit frames stay on manufacturer product pages. 6-mil sheets stay on plastic replacement.

Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

KindPackListingASINUSD
Construction lumber2×4 · 3 ftVENTRAL Lumber 2 in. x 4 in. (1 1/2" x 3 1/2") Construction Premium Douglas Fir Board Stud Wood (3FT)In stock. Three-foot Douglas fir stud — not pressure-treated and not an 8-ft hip/base board. Not a house bill of materials.B0FBHB4S7Z$26.15
Structural screw5/16 × 4 in · 25-packGRK Fasteners RSS™ 5/16 x 4 Rugged Structural Framing Screws, 25 PCSIn stock. Framing screw for wood-to-wood. Pack size only — not a hoop count.B00P6NIYTA$24.91
Structural screw5/16 × 4 in · 100-packGRK Fasteners RSS™ 5/16 x 4" Rugged Structural Framing Screws, 100 PCSFeatured NEW offer $50.32 (a second priceAmount $53.51 was also on the page). Only 6 left in stock at retrieval. Same 5/16 × 4 in RSS as the 25-pack.B001SFMM2U$50.32
Exterior wood screw#10 × 3 in · 325 countSPAX #10 x 3 Exterior Wafer Head Wood Screws Construction Torx T-Star Plus (Pack of 5/325 Total /65 EA Pack) Bit Included Rust ResistantOnly 7 left in stock. Listing copy names treated lumber and exterior use. Five 65-count packs. Not a kit fastener pack.B08H86VV3P$82.92

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Opened and skipped (no featured offer): B00FQ58DZS 2 in. x 4 in. x 8 ft. #2 Prime Prime Pressure-Treated Lumber — Product page opened. Currently unavailable. No featured priceAmount.; B00L2K0ADE 2 in. x 4 in. x 10 ft. #2 Prime Pressure-Treated Lumber — Product page opened. No featured priceAmount. Not copied as a priced row.; B017085FW2 Thunderbird Forest Studs 2 " X 4 " X 8 ' Ponderosa Pine — Currently unavailable. No featured priceAmount.

Packs, not a house takeoff

Film lock stays on wiggle wire. Cover grade stays on plastic replacement. Hold-downs stay on ground anchors. Shade stays on shade cloth. Drip stays on drip irrigation. Sidewall curtains stay on roll-up sides.

FAQ

Does a high-tunnel kit include lumber?
Often no. Tonight’s product pages split three ways: all-metal kits that ship steel hip, base, and end walls (Bootstrap Round All-Metal; Farmers Friend Haven and Guardian; Tunnel Vision Hoops full-package specs); kits that tell you to buy 2×4s or 2×6s locally (Bootstrap Essential Gothic and Essential Round; Grower's Solution Glacier and Super Duty; GreenhouseKits1); and Rimol Basic, which includes 2 ft × 4 ft end-wall framing brackets, not a lumber package. Ledgewood and Hortitech do not state lumber inclusion.
Which kits include metal baseboards instead of wood?
Bootstrap Farmer Round All-Metal lists steel hip/baseboards and an all-metal end wall. Farmers Friend Haven says every bow, bolt, and metal baseboard is included. Guardian names metal baseboards. Tunnel Vision Hoops 20- and 30-foot spec lists name galvanized steel baseboards and an aluminum hip rail; the 30-foot page also says a full package does not require sourced lumber.
What does Bootstrap Essential tell you to buy locally?
Hip boards and baseboards. Essential Gothic and Essential Round both say those materials are not included and should be purchased at your local hardware store. The Purchase Locally charts on those pages list 2″×6″×8′ hip/base counts by length and 2″×6″ endwall boards (8′ on 14-foot models, 10′ on 20-foot models). That is a piece count, not a lumber-yard dollar total.
Does Rimol Basic include lumber or just brackets?
Brackets. The High Tunnel 30×96 and Nor'Easter 30×96 Basic packages both list 2 ft × 4 ft end-wall framing brackets. Standard and Upgraded add metal end-wall framing kits. No 2×4 count and no lumber dollar appear on those pages.
Does EQIP pay for grower-bought lumber?
The national High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ says financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself, and that the grower is responsible for electricity, venting, lighting, and similar additions. It does not publish a lumber payment rate. A commercially manufactured kit is still the kit rule on that FAQ. Do not invent an EQIP lumber dollar. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
Can the Amazon 3-foot 2×4 replace a hip-and-base lumber run?
No. The only construction-lumber listing with a featured price tonight is a 3-foot Douglas fir 2×4 (B0FBHB4S7Z, $26.15). Eight- and ten-foot pressure-treated 2×4 catalog pages opened without a featured offer. Bootstrap’s Purchase Locally chart is 2×6×8 and 2×6×10. Pack size is not a house bill of materials.

Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.