Skip to content

Independent kit notes · not USDA

Tunnel Spec

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Gaps stay blank.


Caterpillar · high tunnel · not a payment

Caterpillar tunnel vs high tunnel

Growers search caterpillar versus high tunnel when they want season extension without buying the biggest house on the lot — or when a vendor page says “NRCS grant eligible” next to a movable hoop. Tonight’s live pages do not use one legal definition. Farmers Friend sells Classic, Gothic, and Max caterpillar kits with listed prices, and Haven / Guardian high-tunnel kits on the same site. The 9-kit index is high tunnels only. This page copies those sentences. It does not invent a USDA payment or a wind rating.

Vendor copy retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC. Featured Amazon prices copied 17 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC. EQIP language is CPS 325 plus the structure-only FAQ already on what EQIP will not pay for. A hoop bender used to roll EMT for a caterpillar-scale hoop is on hoop bender DIY vs prefab kit. Storm-damage years on Haven / Guardian versus Bootstrap All-Metal manufacturing-defect years and hoop gauges are on Farmers Friend warranty vs Bootstrap gauge. Low tunnel, caterpillar, and hobby polycarbonate versus a commercial kit — without rebuilding this SKU race — is on high tunnel alternatives. No payment dollar is invented here.

Home: Tunnel Spec. Kit index: commercially manufactured kits. Shape: gothic vs Quonset. Size map: high-tunnel sizes. 14×20 kits. Film: plastic replacement. Lock channel: wiggle wire. Hold-downs: ground anchors. County inspection: EQIP checklist.

Caterpillar versus high-tunnel schematicTwo line hoops: a lower movable hoop on the left and a taller walk-in hoop on the right. Schematic, not a photo.caterpillarhigh tunnel
Figure: schematic low hoop versus a taller walk-in hoop. Heights are not a vendor spec.

What vendors call each house

A caterpillar, on Farmers Friend’s collection page, is a movable steel-bow house under greenhouse plastic — “without the complexity or cost of a permanent greenhouse.” Film is rope-tensioned over the bows. The Classic page says kits are fast to move as production needs change, and that the Classic is for growers who frequently relocate a tunnel. A high tunnel on the same vendor is a labeled High Tunnel kit: Haven at 16 feet wide with metal baseboards; Guardian at 21 feet with 6.5-foot vertical side walls and roll-up sides.

Inside-height FAQ for a 14-foot caterpillar prints the center in inches: Standard Gothic 108, Standard Classic 92. The Max page prints peak height as Gothic 12 feet 11 inches and Classic 12 feet 3 inches on a 21-foot width. Haven prints Classic 8 feet 8 inches and Gothic 10 feet. Guardian prints 13 feet. Those are vendor numbers, not a load table.

When growers pick one

No yield percent, labor hour, or storm-survival rate is invented here. Gothic versus round on a high tunnel stays on gothic vs Quonset.

EQIP is written for a high tunnel

This page does not claim a caterpillar receives EQIP. Farmers Friend prints “NRCS Grant Eligible” and answers “Do your tunnels meet NRCS specifications? Yes!” on the Gothic Caterpillar FAQ. The collection page also says each model is designed for “compatibility with NRCS high tunnel grant requirements.” Those are vendor marketing sentences. The county writes the practice.

The practice does not include greenhouses or low tunnel systems.

The high tunnel frame must be constructed of metal, wood, or durable plastic; and be at least 6 feet in height at the peak of the structure.

Source: NRCS Conservation Practice Standard 325 High Tunnel System.

Under the High Tunnel System Initiative, financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself. Electricity, venting systems, lighting, etc. can be installed providing the additions meets manufacturer’s designs and specifications. However, the grower is responsible for those costs.

Source: USDA NRCS High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ (Updated November 2024; Oregon-branded).

A 92-inch or 108-inch center on the 14-foot FAQ table is taller than the 6-foot CPS peak sentence. That does not invent a determination. CPS still excludes “low tunnel systems” without naming Farmers Friend. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Checklist: EQIP county inspection. What is outside cost share: what EQIP will not pay for.

Sourced prices tonight

Copied 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC. Kit links stay on manufacturer pages. A missing peak or width stays an em dash. Caterpillar SKUs are not extra rows on the 9-kit index.

KindVendor / kitWidth / peakDisplayed configurationUSD
CaterpillarNot an index row.Farmers Friend — Classic CaterpillarSKU TN-7889. Not on the 9-kit high-tunnel index.14 ft (16 ft optional)Center 92 in (14-ft Standard Classic)14-ft × 20-ft Standard, 5-ft bow spacing$1,392
CaterpillarNot an index row.Farmers Friend — Gothic CaterpillarSKU TN-3554. Not on the 9-kit high-tunnel index.14 ft (16 ft optional)Center 108 in (14-ft Standard Gothic)14-ft × 20-ft Standard, 5-ft bow spacing$1,582
CaterpillarNot an index row.Farmers Friend — Caterpillar Tunnel MaxSKU TN-7208. Configurator also printed DIY end-wall add-ons at $247 each; that pair is not this $3,185.21 ftClassic 12 ft 3 in; Gothic 12 ft 11 inClassic, 30-ft length (end walls not in that total)$3,185
High tunnelOn the 9-kit index.Farmers Friend — Haven High TunnelOn the 9-kit index. Zipper end walls $349 each were selected on the page as add-ons, not this $3,348.16 ftClassic 8 ft 8 in; Gothic 10 ftGothic, 24-ft length (end walls not in that total)$3,348
High tunnelOn the 9-kit index.Farmers Friend — Guardian High TunnelOn the 9-kit index. Copy names 6.5-ft vertical side walls.21 ft13 ft24-ft length (end walls not in that total)$4,758
High tunnelOn the 9-kit index.Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-MetalOn the 9-kit index. Live /products/greenhouse-kit.json printed 3624.99 on 14′ / 20′. No caterpillar SKU on this store tonight.— (not stated on the vendor page)— (not stated on the vendor page)Shopify JSON first variant 14′ / 20′$3,624.99
High tunnelOn the 9-kit index.Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)On the 9-kit index. Search for “caterpillar” on rimol.com did not list a caterpillar SKU tonight.30 ft— (not stated on the vendor page)Basic package, Now $16,803.00$16,803
High tunnelOn the 9-kit index.Grower's Solution — 30′ GlacierOn the 9-kit index. Site search for “caterpillar” returned clay and insecticide, not a tunnel SKU.30 ftApproximately 14 ft, depending on ground-stake installation30′ × 32′ variant$4,320.95

High-tunnel size pages: 14×20, size hub, 30×96 cost.

Quotes copied tonight

Farmers Friend — Caterpillar Tunnels collection

Caterpillar tunnels are simple, movable structures designed to protect crops from wind, frost, rain, and pests while extending your growing season. Built from high-strength steel bows and greenhouse plastic, these tunnels create a controlled environment that boosts yields and improves crop quality, without the complexity or cost of a permanent greenhouse. Each model is designed for quick assembly, superior durability, and compatibility with NRCS high tunnel grant requirements.

Source: Farmers Friend — Caterpillar Tunnels collection. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Classic Caterpillar Tunnel

The Classic tunnel ( LEFT ) is cost-effective and portable. It’s a great starter tunnel and is excellent for those who frequently move it around their farm. Two people can fully assemble our 14′ × 100′ Classic Tunnel in as few as two hours. Our Caterpillar Tunnel kits are fast and easy to move around your farm as production needs change throughout the season. All kits include 6 mil greenhouse plastic. Plastic in early Spring and late Fall. Shade Cloth in Summer. Easy up. Easy down.

Source: Farmers Friend — Classic Caterpillar Tunnel. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Gothic Caterpillar Tunnel

NRCS Grant Eligible. Do your tunnels meet NRCS specifications? Yes! We have an excellent resource we've developed to help you apply for (and win!) your first NRCS High Tunnel Grant. The caterpillar tunnel holds its single layer with rope tensioned over the bows, which is what keeps it lightweight, affordable, and movable. There is no official wind rating on our tunnels. The caterpillar tunnel is designed to be a moveable structure. Therefore, it is inherently not made to withstand high winds.

Source: Farmers Friend — Gothic Caterpillar Tunnel. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Gothic Caterpillar inside-height FAQ

What are the inside height dimensions of your caterpillar tunnels? Note: All measurements are in inches. Inside dimension of 14-ft wide Caterpillar tunnel … Center 108 124 126 92 108 126 (Gothic / Gothic Pro / Gothic Ground Post / Classic / Classic Pro / Classic Ground Post).

Source: Farmers Friend — Gothic Caterpillar inside-height FAQ. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Caterpillar Tunnel Max

The new 21-ft wide Caterpillar Tunnel Max provides 50% more growing space than a standard 14-wide Caterpillar Tunnel. Peak Height Gothic 12 feet, 11 inches Classic 12 feet, 3 inches. Our Caterpillar Tunnel Max kits are movable by design to adapt to your farm's needs. Plastic Rating 6-mil, 4 year.

Source: Farmers Friend — Caterpillar Tunnel Max. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Haven High Tunnel

Introducing the Haven High Tunnel—a premium High Tunnel kit from Farmers Friend, refreshed for 2025. Peak Height Classic 8 feet 8 inches Gothic 10 feet. Tunnel Width 16 feet wide. Plastic 32 feet wide 6-mil greenhouse plastic 4-year.

Source: Farmers Friend — Haven High Tunnel. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Farmers Friend — Guardian High Tunnel

Introducing the Guardian High Tunnel—a premium, 21-ft wide High Tunnel kit from Farmers Friend. Featuring our largest-ever roll-up sides for improved climate control, 6.5-ft vertical side walls for easy bed access. Peak Height 13 feet.

Source: Farmers Friend — Guardian High Tunnel. Retrieved 17 September 2026, about 03:11 UTC.

Pages that did not list a SKU

Amazon parts, not kits

Film, snap clamps, lock channel, and staples growers buy after a hoop lands. Titles and featured prices copied 17 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC. Guessed “low-tunnel hoop” ASINs returned 404 and stay off the priced table. Kit frames stay on manufacturer pages.

Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

KindPackListingASINUSD
6-mil film15×40 ftVEVOR Greenhouse Plastic Sheeting 15 x 40 ft, 6 Mil Thickness UV Resistant Clear Polyethylene Film, Hoop Green House Cover for Farms, Agriculture, GardenIn stock. First featured priceAmount $50.90 (a second $47.30 also printed). Too short for a 30×96 gothic roof. Compared on plastic replacement.B09HCHZNCL$50.90
6-mil film16×90 ftBootstrap Farmer Greenhouse Plastic 4 Year 6 mil UV Resistant Clear Polyethylene Film 16' x 90'In stock. Featured NEW $269.99. A 16-foot-wide roll is still a short sheet, not a 30-foot house takeoff.B07D22SZCQ$269.99
Snap clamp20-pack · ¾-in EMTJiggly Greenhouse® Snap On Clamp for Securing Plastic Film, Shade Cloth, Greenhouse Coverings to 3/4" [1" OD] EMT Conduit or PVC Pipe (Pack of 20)In stock. Featured NEW $21.50. EMT / PVC clip, not a kit. Compared on roll-up sides.B08DXXJX9Y$21.50
Wiggle wire / lock channel20 of eachBootstrap Farmer Spring Wire & Lock Channel 20 of Each Wiggle Locking Greenhouse Plastic Shade ClothIn stock. Featured NEW $190.99. Farmers Friend caterpillar copy holds film with rope, not this channel. Compared on wiggle wire.B01BC4HBQI$190.99
Landscape staple8 ga · 100-packECOgardener Extra Heavy Duty Galvanized Weed Barrier Landscape Fabric StaplesIn stock. Featured NEW $78.05. Fabric / sod pin, not a bow. Compared on ground anchors.B079S4TBXX$78.05

As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

Opened and skipped: B07QXV6N8P — Guessed low-tunnel hoop ASIN. HTTP 404 tonight.; B0B6L2QK2H — Guessed low-tunnel hoop ASIN. HTTP 404 tonight.; B09VCDDZNG — Candidate garden-hoop listing. Fetch returned 404; no featured offer copied.; B097LMB8ZD — Candidate row-cover hoop listing. Fetch timed out; no featured offer copied.

More film on plastic replacement. More channel on wiggle wire. More staples on ground anchors. Sidewall curtains on roll-up sides.

FAQ

What is a caterpillar tunnel versus a high tunnel?
Farmers Friend’s collection page calls caterpillar tunnels simple, movable structures of steel bows and greenhouse plastic, without the complexity or cost of a permanent greenhouse. The same vendor’s Haven and Guardian pages are labeled High Tunnel kits, with metal baseboards or 6.5-foot side walls and listed peak heights. This page copies those sentences. It does not invent a legal definition.
Does EQIP pay for a caterpillar or low tunnel?
CPS 325 says the practice does not include greenhouses or low tunnel systems, and that a high tunnel frame must be at least 6 feet at the peak. Farmers Friend prints “NRCS Grant Eligible” on the Gothic Caterpillar page — that is vendor marketing, not a county determination. This page does not claim a caterpillar gets EQIP and does not invent a payment dollar. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
Which kits on the Tunnel Spec index are caterpillars?
None. The 9-kit index is high-tunnel SKUs. Farmers Friend’s Classic ($1,392), Gothic ($1,582), and Max ($3,185) caterpillar pages are live tonight and sit off that index. Bootstrap Farmer’s caterpillar product URL returned 404. Rimol, Grower's Solution, and FarmTek did not list a caterpillar SKU we could copy.
When do growers pick one over the other?
Vendor copy: Farmers Friend says the Classic is cost-effective and portable, excellent for growers who frequently move a tunnel, and that two people can assemble a 14×100 Classic in as few as two hours. Rope-held film is what that page says keeps the house lightweight. High-tunnel pages on the same site name roll-up sides, metal baseboards, and 6.5-foot side walls for bed access. Crop height, whether you need to walk the beds upright, and whether the house stays put are the usual split. No yield statistic is invented here.
Can I cover a caterpillar from a 15×40 Amazon sheet?
The VEVOR listing is 15×40 feet, 6 mil. Farmers Friend Max names a 42-foot-wide roll. Pack size is copied as printed. Measure the hoop arc. More film SKUs stay on the plastic-replacement page.

Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.