Skip to content

Independent kit notes · not USDA

Tunnel Spec

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 01:47 UTC. Gaps stay blank.


Size notes · 20×40 · not a coupon page

20×40 High-Tunnel Kits

A 20-by-40-foot commercially manufactured kit is 800 square feet on the ground. This page compares only kits already in the index whose product page lists that width and that length. If the page is silent on length, the length is not 40 feet.

Product pages re-opened 30 August 2026, about 15:35 UTC. Figures that match the 01:47 UTC index retrieval are restated here with this later timestamp. Wind ratings, snow-load pounds per square foot, and EQIP payment dollars are not on those pages — they are not invented here.

Size map: high-tunnel sizes. Smaller size: 14×20 kits. Longer 20-foot: 20×60 kits, 20×80 kits. Shape notes: gothic vs Quonset. County inspection: EQIP checklist. 6-mil film: high-tunnel plastic replacement.

20 by 40 foot planPlan rectangle labeled 20 feet wide and 40 feet long. Schematic, not a vendor spec.40 ft20 ft
Figure: schematic plan, 20 ft by 40 ft. Not a vendor spec, not a site survey, not a foundation drawing.

Who this size is for

20×40 is a common first commercial kit. It is not a requirement. The Pennsylvania NRCS seasonal high tunnel page does not name this size.

To receive assistance for high tunnels, applicants must be agricultural producers, and use commercially manufactured high tunnel kits.

According to NRCS practice standards a seasonal high tunnel is a structure, at least six feet in height…

Source: USDA NRCS Pennsylvania — Seasonal High Tunnel System for Crops. Both kits in the table below are commercially manufactured. The 20-foot peak heights we copied — about 11′4″ (round) and 15′8″ (gothic) — are above six feet. That does not decide ranking, payment, or inspection. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.

Listed 20×40 kits

Two SKUs. Full spec blocks live on the kit index.

KitListed sizeProfilePeak heightBow spacingCoverNot in the kitList priceRetrievedSource
Bootstrap Farmer Round All-Metal20×40roundApprox. 11′4″ at center (20′ width)— (not stated on the vendor page)4-year UVA-resistant 6-mil greenhouse plasticLumber for hip, base, and end walls is not a store run — the page includes USA steel hip/base braces and an all-metal end wall with a 36″ door (72″ double optional). Freight to the contiguous United States is stated as free. Roll-up sides and other options are sold separately.$6,277.9930 August 2026, about 15:35 UTCVendor page
Bootstrap Farmer Essential Gothic20×40gothic15′8″ (20′ width)— (not stated on the vendor page)6-mil greenhouse plastic, 4-year warranty; page says the sheet covers the greenhouse including end wallsHip and base lumber not included. For the 20′ model at 40 ft the page’s “purchase locally” chart lists 24 pieces of 2×6×8 hip/base and 4 pieces of 2×6×10 end-wall lumber. Freight language is the sitewide “free shipping over $75*” line — it does not repeat the Round All-Metal “free shipping to the contiguous United States” sentence.$5,20030 August 2026, about 15:35 UTCVendor page

Bootstrap Farmer

Round All-Metal 20×40

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 15:35 UTC.

round profile. Peak: Approx. 11′4″ at center (20′ width). Cover: 4-year UVA-resistant 6-mil greenhouse plastic. List price: $6,277.99.

Lumber for hip, base, and end walls is not a store run — the page includes USA steel hip/base braces and an all-metal end wall with a 36″ door (72″ double optional). Freight to the contiguous United States is stated as free. Roll-up sides and other options are sold separately.

Bootstrap Farmer

Essential Gothic 20×40

Retrieved 30 August 2026, about 15:35 UTC.

gothic profile. Peak: 15′8″ (20′ width). Cover: 6-mil greenhouse plastic, 4-year warranty; page says the sheet covers the greenhouse including end walls. List price: $5,200.

Hip and base lumber not included. For the 20′ model at 40 ft the page’s “purchase locally” chart lists 24 pieces of 2×6×8 hip/base and 4 pieces of 2×6×10 end-wall lumber. Freight language is the sitewide “free shipping over $75*” line — it does not repeat the Round All-Metal “free shipping to the contiguous United States” sentence.

Index kits that are not a 20×40

These rows are in the directory. They are not in the table because the product page does not list a 20×40.

Parts · not kits

Amazon replacement parts for a 20×40

The Bootstrap Farmer 20×40 kits above stay on manufacturer product pages. These Amazon listings are 6-mil film, lock channel, earth anchors, staples, and 1/2-inch EMT straps — not a kit. Titles and featured prices were copied from live amazon.com product pages 7 September 2026, about 15:36 UTC. A missing featured price stays an em dash. Ratings are not copied.

Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.

KindListingASINUSD
Greenhouse poly filmBootstrap Farmer Greenhouse Plastic 4 Year 6 mil UV Resistant Clear Polyethylene Film 16' x 90'4-year 6-mil polyethylene, 16×90 ft size selected on the product page.B07D22SZCQ$269.99
Greenhouse poly filmGreenhouse Clear Plastic Film Polyethylene Covering Gt4 Year 6 Mil 16ft. X 25ft. By Grower’s SolutionTitle copied as Amazon printed it, including “Gt4 Year.”B01F7XJI52$88.99
Greenhouse poly filmVEVOR Greenhouse Plastic Sheeting 15 x 40 ft, 6 Mil Thickness UV Resistant Clear Polyethylene Film, Hoop Green House Cover for Farms, Agriculture, Garden15×40 ft, 6 mil. In stock on the product page at retrieval.B09HCHZNCL$50.90
Wiggle wire / spring lockBootstrap Farmer Spring Wire & Lock Channel 20 of Each Wiggle Locking Greenhouse Plastic Shade Cloth20 lock channels and 20 PVC-coated spring wires. In stock at retrieval.B01BC4HBQI$190.99
Earth anchorsBISupply Ground Anchors, 15 Inch - 4pk Black Shed Anchor Kit Greenhouse Tie Down Ground Stakes with Drillable Eyebolt15-inch, 4-pack. Page names greenhouse tie-down among uses.B08HR6SMLQ$25.99
Ground staplesECOgardener Extra Heavy Duty Galvanized Weed Barrier Landscape Fabric StaplesSize selected on the page: 8 Gauge 100 Pack.B079S4TBXX$78.05
EMT-adjacent hardwareSIGMA ENGINEERED SOLUTIONS ProConnex 1901 EMT One-Hole Strap, 1/2-Inch, 100-Pack (Gray)1/2-inch one-hole EMT straps, 100-pack. For attaching conduit, not a kit.B00C3YCDF6$16.99

Lock channel and spring-wire packs are compared on high-tunnel wiggle wire. Ground anchors and landscape staples are compared on high-tunnel ground anchors. Kit lumber inclusion — steel vs buy-local vs brackets — is compared on does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. Roll-up sides and sidewall curtains are compared on high-tunnel roll-up sides. End walls and doors are compared on high-tunnel end walls. HAF circulation, shutter exhaust, thermostats, and wax auto vents are compared on high-tunnel ventilation fans. Winter heat — frost cloth, hoops, heater thermostat, heat mat, CO alarm — is compared on how to heat a high tunnel. Sidewall and end-wall insect / exclusion netting is compared on high-tunnel insect netting. Floor cover — woven landscape fabric, burn holes, staples, aisles — is compared on high-tunnel ground cover / weed barrier. Double-poly inflation blowers, inner/outer 6-mil, poly tape, and a manometer are compared on high-tunnel double-poly inflation. Plastic repair tape, poly-patch, UV greenhouse tape, spring wire, and snap clamps are compared on high-tunnel plastic repair tape. Ground posts and extra screw-in hold-downs are compared on high-tunnel ground posts. Caterpillar versus high tunnel is compared on caterpillar vs high tunnel. Tomato clips, twine, drip, and film for a crop house are compared on high-tunnel tomatoes. Strawberry plasticulture parts — drip tape, mulch, fabric, staples, film — are compared on high-tunnel strawberries. Cut-flower netting, drip tape, fabric, and film are compared on high-tunnel cut flowers. Winter-lettuce frost blanket, row cover, drip, and film are compared on high-tunnel winter lettuce.

FAQ

Which 20×40 kits are in this table?
Two, from the current Tunnel Spec index: Bootstrap Farmer Round All-Metal 20×40 and Bootstrap Farmer Essential Gothic 20×40. Those product pages list a 20-foot width and a 40-foot length with a price. We re-opened the pages on 30 August 2026, about 15:35 UTC. If a vendor in the index does not list that size, it is not in the table.
Why isn’t Farmers Friend Haven in the 20×40 table?
Haven is sold as 16 feet wide. The displayed price on that product page does not label a length. An unlabeled length is not 40 feet, and we do not invent a 20×40 SKU.
Why isn’t the Tunnel Vision Hoops 20-foot kit in the table?
That product page is a 20-foot-wide gothic kit. Length is requested when you ask for a quote. The page does not list a 20×40 SKU or a 20×40 price, so there is nothing to copy into a list-price cell.
Does EQIP require a 20×40 high tunnel?
The USDA NRCS Pennsylvania seasonal high tunnel page does not name 20×40. It requires a commercially manufactured kit and a structure at least six feet in height, among other rules on that page. County offices rank and inspect. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
Is the gothic 20×40 cheaper once it is standing?
The Essential Gothic 20×40 list price on the product page is $5,200. The Round All-Metal 20×40 is $6,277.99. The gothic kit tells you to buy hip, base, and end-wall lumber locally and does not repeat the round kit’s free-freight-to-the-contiguous-United-States sentence. Sticker price is not installed cost.
Does this page publish a snow load or wind rating for 20×40?
No. Neither Bootstrap Farmer product page states a pound-per-square-foot snow load or a wind speed we can copy for the 20×40. Those cells stay blank. Vendor snow-shed language is not a stamped load.

Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes.