Ground posts · wind copy · not a load table
High-tunnel ground posts and wind anchoring
Growers search ground posts, base posts, and ground stakes after a kit price looks like a finished house — then add screw-in anchors when a site is windy. Tonight’s vendor pages do not agree on the words. Some ship USA steel posts and a driver. Some ship 30-inch stakes you drive 24 inches. One 20-foot spec lets you pick a baseframe or a ground-post anchor. Two pages stay silent. This page copies those sentences from live product pages and Shopify JSON. It does not invent a wind-load table, a mph rating, or an EQIP ground-post dollar.
Vendor copy retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC. Featured Amazon prices for 15- and 18-inch screw-in packs, a 30-inch ShelterAuger, and an 8-gauge staple 100-pack copied 16 September 2026, about 03:13 UTC. “High wind” on a listing title is vendor copy, not pounds per square foot. EQIP language is the structure-only wording already on what EQIP will not pay for. No USDA payment dollar is invented here.
Home: Tunnel Spec. Kit index: commercially manufactured kits. Extra screw-in / staple packs: high-tunnel ground anchors. End walls: high-tunnel end walls. Shape: gothic vs Quonset. Size map: high-tunnel sizes. 14×20 and 20×80. 30×96 packages: 30×96 cost. Boards: does a high-tunnel kit include lumber. Sidewalls: roll-up sides. County inspection: EQIP checklist.
A post in the kit is not an Amazon auger
A listed kit price is the metal the vendor named — or it is not. A ground post is the tube under the bow. A screw-in helix with an eye is a tie-down you buy in a 4-pack when you want extras. That comparison stays next to ground anchors, not as a house takeoff.
- Steel posts or stakes in the listed package. Bootstrap All-Metal, Essential, and Premium name USA / US steel ground posts (All-Metal and Premium add a driver). Rimol lists extended ground posts for 6-foot side walls. Haven names swage-free ground posts. Guardian names posts on the install FAQ. Glacier ships 30-inch stakes (~24 inches in soil). Super Duty drives stakes ~26 inches. TVH 30 lists 2.197-inch OD / 12 ga ground-post anchors. GK1 lists 1⅜-inch steel ground stakes.
- Optional / a choice on the spec. TVH 20 lists a patented 1.90-inch baseframe or ground-post anchors. Rimol’s “High wind kit for the roof” sits on Standard and Upgraded — not on the Basic feature list next to the extended posts.
- Not stated. Ledgewood complete packages name frame, crossties, roll-up, and poly — not posts. Hortitech’s 20×80 cards name a wind-retention kit with roll-up sides and do not name ground posts.
EQIP pays for the structure
Ground posts that ship with a commercially manufactured kit can sit inside the structure. A local screw-in 4-pack, a landscape staple, or extra concrete around a post is not a second EQIP practice on the national FAQ. This page does not invent a ground-post payment.
Under the High Tunnel System Initiative, financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself. Electricity, venting systems, lighting, etc. can be installed providing the additions meets manufacturer’s designs and specifications. However, the grower is responsible for those costs.Source: USDA NRCS High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ (Updated November 2024; Oregon-branded).
Electricity, venting, and lighting sit on the grower in that FAQ. An Amazon auger 4-pack is the same kind of grower-supplied material when you buy it after the kit. The FAQ still requires a commercially manufactured kit. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Checklist: EQIP county inspection. What is outside cost share: what EQIP will not pay for.
Sourced kit ground-post table
Copied 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC. Kit CTAs stay on manufacturer pages — not Amazon. Wind sentences are vendor copy. A silent page prints an em dash.
| Vendor / kit | Ground posts / stakes? | What the page says | Wind language (vendor copy) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-MetalOn the 9-kit index. | Included — USA steel ground posts + driver | Include list names USA Steel ground posts and a ground post driver with the hoops, hip/base braces, door, lock channel, spring wire, and 6-mil film. Shopify JSON tonight matches the live PDP. | Vendor copy: the all-metal design “supports wind and snow loading better than wood.” No mph or PSF figure on this page. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Essential GothicOn the 9-kit index. | Included — USA-made steel ground posts | Include list: USA-made steel ground posts with the frame, lock channel, spring wire, and hardware. Hip boards and baseboards are still bought locally — that is lumber, not the posts. | No mph or PSF figure on this product page tonight. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Essential RoundOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — USA-made steel ground posts | Same steel-post line as Essential Gothic tonight: USA-made steel ground posts on the include list. Hip and base boards stay a local lumber buy. Priced on the size pages, not an extra 9-kit index row. | No mph or PSF figure on this product page tonight. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Gothic All-MetalOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — 16 ga ground posts + driver | Include list: US Steel 16 gauge Ground Posts and a Ground Post Driver. Feature copy also names heavy-duty 16 gauge hoops, ground posts, and end-wall components. | Vendor copy: “Integrated wind bracing along 7 lateral points across the entire length of your structure.” Not a mph or PSF rating. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Round All-MetalOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — steel ground posts + driver | Include list tonight: USA-made steel ground posts and a ground post driver with 18 gauge hat-channel baseboards and hip boards, lock channel, spring wire, and hardware. | Vendor copy: “Corner bracing adds stability in wind and challenging weather.” No mph or PSF figure. |
| Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Gothic All-MetalOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — steel ground posts + driver | Same premium include list as Premium Round tonight: USA-made steel ground posts and a ground post driver with hat-channel hip and base. | Same vendor corner-bracing sentence as Premium Round. No mph or PSF figure. |
| Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)On the 9-kit index. | Included — extended ground posts for 6′ side walls | Features list: extended ground posts for 6′ side walls, 4 ft bow spacing, 1.90 in 13 ga bows, truss every bow, five purlins. That is the listed frame, not an Amazon auger pack. | Vendor copy: “Wind bracing kits included with all greenhouses” and “Engineering meets International Building Codes (IBC).” Standard and Upgraded packages add a “High wind kit for the roof and wind panel kits for the corners.” No mph or PSF figure on this page. |
| Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)On size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — extended ground posts for 6′ side walls | Same extended-ground-post feature line as High Tunnel tonight. Sibling of High Tunnel, not averaged with it. | Same wind-bracing / IBC / Standard–Upgraded high-wind-kit language as High Tunnel tonight. Vendor copy, not a load table. |
| Farmers Friend — HavenOn the 9-kit index. | Included — swage-free ground posts | 2025 refresh list names Swage-Free Ground Posts (cut the top if you cannot drive the post fully in rocky soil). Overview copy: 14-gauge metal in both the bows and posts, plus ground posts, hip channel, and metal baseboards. Peak-height FAQ labels Gothic Ground Post vs Classic Ground Post columns — those inches are vendor height copy, not a wind table. | No mph or PSF figure on the Haven PDP tonight. Storm-damage warranty language is vendor marketing, not a stamped rating. |
| Farmers Friend — GuardianOn the 9-kit index. | Included — named on the wind / install FAQ | Wind FAQ tells you to consider adding concrete to some of your ground posts during installation. Feature list names metal baseboards, stronger metal, and an additional third wind-bracing piece on each corner. The page does not print a post count or a post length. | Vendor FAQ copy, not a load table: Caterpillar Tunnels “surviving 50+ mph wind storms,” and that the vendor has “yet to hear of a Haven High Tunnel sustaining any wind damage.” That anecdote is not a Guardian mph rating and is not copied here as a specification. |
| Grower's Solution — 30′ GlacierOn the 9-kit index. | Included — 30″ ground stakes (~24″ in soil) | Include list: 30″ ground stakes to drive approximately 24″ into the ground, 1⅝″ 16 ga bows on 4′ centers, five purlins, film, wire lock. Peak copy says the frame is approximately 14′ tall depending on ground-stake installation. 2×4s, endwall kits, roll-up, and door stay not included. | Vendor copy: wind bracing included on houses 40′ and longer, extra charge under 40′. “All greenhouse kits now include wind strapping kits.” No mph or PSF figure. |
| Grower's Solution — 30′ Super DutyOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | Included — ground stakes (~26″ in soil) | 3.5′ side walls; ground stakes driven approximately 26″; 2″ galvanized tubing for sidewalls and ground stakes (16 ga or 14 ga). Same “14′ tall depending on ground stake installation” sentence as Glacier. Not a 9-kit index row. | Same wind-bracing / wind-strapping sentence as Glacier tonight. Vendor copy, not a load table. |
| Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index. | Included — ground-post anchors 2.197″ OD / 12 ga | Full-package spec: Anchors — Ground Post Anchors (2.197″ OD galv. steel, 12 gauge). Quote only — no list price tonight. | Anti-billow polyester rope is named on the covering list. No mph or PSF figure on this page. |
| Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY KitOn the 9-kit index. | Optional — baseframe or ground-post anchors | Spec lists two anchor choices: patented 1.90″ OD baseframe or Ground Post Anchors (1.90″ OD galv. steel). Quote only. Do not treat the 30-foot 2.197″ / 12 ga line as this SKU. | Same anti-billow rope line as the 30-foot page. No mph or PSF figure. |
| GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel KitOn the 9-kit index. | Included — 1⅜″ steel ground stakes | Include list: 1⅜″ galvanized hoops, 4′ spacing, 12 ft ceiling, ground stakes 1⅜″ steel, three center purlins, wind braces, 6-mil film, hardware, roll-up sides. 2×4s for the perimeter base and end walls are not included. | “Wind braces” is on the include list. No mph or PSF figure. Displayed price does not enumerate a size. |
| Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages vs frame-onlyOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | — (not stated on the vendor page) | 2026 sheet: complete packages include the frame, crossties, roll-up sides, and poly film. Ground posts, ground stakes, and wind language are not named. That gap stays an em dash. | — (not stated on the vendor page) |
| Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / trussOn size / cost pages, not an extra index row. | — (not stated on the vendor page) | Frame spec tonight: 1⅞″ 13 ga arch, 2⅜″ 13 ga sidewall, 13 ft peak. Include cards name manual roll-up sides and a wind-retention kit. Ground posts, ground stakes, and augers are not named on the three PDPs. | “Wind Retention kit” sits on the ventilation line with roll-up sides. Vendor package name, not a mph or PSF rating. |
Quotes copied tonight
- Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal
USA Steel ground posts. USA Steel hip/base braces. Ground post driver. The all metal design increases durability, supports wind and snow loading better than wood, and reduces long term maintenance.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Round All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic
USA-made steel ground posts. Galvanized hardware kits include cross connectors, nuts, bolts, washers, and self-tap screws. You will purchase the material for the hip boards and baseboards locally.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Gothic High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round
USA-made steel ground posts. Galvanized hardware kits include cross connectors, nuts, bolts, washers, and self-tap screws. You will purchase the material for the hip boards and baseboards you want locally.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Essential Round High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Gothic All-Metal
Heavy-duty 16 gauge hoops, ground posts, and end wall components. US Steel 16 gauge Ground Posts. Ground Post Driver. Integrated wind bracing along 7 lateral points across the entire length of your structure.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Gothic All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Round All-Metal
Galvanized steel 18 gauge hat channel baseboards and hip boards. USA-made steel ground posts. Ground post driver. Corner bracing adds stability in wind and challenging weather.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Round All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Gothic All-Metal
Galvanized steel 18 gauge hat channel baseboards and hip boards. USA-made steel ground posts. Ground post driver. Corner bracing adds stability in wind and challenging weather.
Source: Bootstrap Farmer — Premium Gothic All-Metal High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Rimol — 30×96 High Tunnel (Basic)
Features 4 ft. bow spacing standard Extended ground posts for 6' side walls Bows are 1.90 in., 13 ga. galvanized steel tubing. Wind bracing kits included with all greenhouses Engineering meets International Building Codes (IBC). Standard Package … High wind kit for the roof and wind panel kits for the corners.
Source: Rimol — High Tunnel 30 × 96. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Rimol — 30×96 Nor'Easter (Basic)
Extended ground posts for 6' side walls 4 ft. bow spacing standard. Wind bracing kits included with all greenhouses Engineering meets International Building Codes (IBC). Standard Package … High wind kit for the roof and wind panel kits for the corners.
Source: Rimol — Nor'Easter 30 × 96. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Farmers Friend — Haven
The all new metal baseboards eliminate wood rot, paired with simplified ground posts and easier assembly for a seamless setup. Swage-Free Ground Posts: Redesigned for easier installation in rocky soil—allowing you to cut the top off a post if you can't fully drive it into the ground. The Haven High Tunnel is crafted with industry-leading 14-gauge metal in both the bows and posts. Plus with the addition of Ground Posts, hip channel, and metal baseboards, this is a tunnel designed to stand the test of time.
Source: Farmers Friend — Haven High Tunnel. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Farmers Friend — Guardian
How will the Guardian hold up to wind? Thanks to the thicker diameter pipes, industry leading 14-gauge metal, reinforced wind bracing and trusses, and metal baseboards, the Guardian is our strongest tunnel to date. We routinely hear of Caterpillar Tunnels (our least-permanent tunnels) surviving 50+ mph wind storms … If you want the absolute highest peace of mind, consider adding concrete to some of your ground posts during installation.
Source: Farmers Friend — Guardian High Tunnel. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Grower's Solution — 30′ Glacier
This commercial-grade greenhouse frame is approximately 14' tall, depending on your ground stake installation. 30" Ground Stakes to drive approximately 24" into the ground. Wind Bracing is included on greenhouses 40' and longer and for an additional charge on houses under 40'. All greenhouse kits now include wind strapping kits.
Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Glacier Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Grower's Solution — 30′ Super Duty
This commercial-grade greenhouse package is 14' tall, depending on your ground stake installation. 3.5 Foot Side Walls - Ground Stakes are driven approximately 26" into the ground 2" Galvanized Steel Tubing for sidewalls and ground stakes(16 Gauge or 14 Gauge). Wind Bracing is included on greenhouses 40' and longer and for an additional charge on houses under 40'. All greenhouse kits now include wind strapping kits.
Source: Grower's Solution — 30' Super Duty Greenhouse Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30′ High Tunnel DIY Kit
FRAMING Anchors - Ground Post Anchors (2.197" OD galv. steel - 12 gauge) Hoops / Bows - 4 ft. spacing, 1.90" OD 13 gauge galv. steel tube. Anti-Billow - Polyester anti-billow rope and Hardware.
Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 30 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20′ High Tunnel DIY Kit
FRAMING Anchors - Baseframe (patented 1.90" OD galv. steel) or Ground Post Anchors (1.90" OD galv. steel) Hoops / Bows - 4 ft. spacing, 1.66" OD 13 gauge galv. steel tube.
Source: Tunnel Vision Hoops — 20 ft wide High Tunnel DIY Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit
INCLUDES: ALL 1 3/8" diameter galvanized steel tubing (hoops/bows) 4’ hoop spacing with 12 ft ceiling Ground stakes-1 3/8" steel 3 Center steel purlins Stretch the full length of the greenhouse Offers connection points for all hoops Wind braces Clear, 6 mil, 4 year poly film.
Source: GreenhouseKits1 — NRCS High Tunnel Kit. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Ledgewood Farm — Complete packages vs frame-only
The first one is the price for popular complete packages including the frame, crossties, roll up sides and poly film.
Source: Ledgewood Farm — 2026 pricing information. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
- Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS Quonset / Semi-Gable / truss
Frame Specs 1 7/8" 13ga arch - 2 3/8" 13ga sidewall - 13ft peak height Ventilation Package Manual Roll-up sides - Wind Retention kit - Passive Ventilation Covering Main Covering- 6mil single layer, Endwall Covering- 9mil woven.
Source: Hortitech Direct — 20×80 NRCS kits. Retrieved 16 September 2026, about 03:12 UTC.
Amazon extras, not kit posts
Where a grower wants more hold-downs than the kit tube, these are common screw-in / auger SKUs with a featured amazon.com price tonight — plus one landscape-staple 100-pack that is not a post. Titles and featured prices were copied 16 September 2026, about 03:13 UTC. Kit frames stay on manufacturer product pages. More staple counts stay on ground anchors. Cover grade stays on plastic replacement. Boards stay on kit lumber.
Amazon Associate disclosure. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
| Kind | Pack | Listing | ASIN | USD |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Screw-in anchor | 15 in · 4-pack | BISupply Ground Anchors, 15 Inch - 4pk Black Shed Anchor Kit Greenhouse Tie Down Ground Stakes with Drillable EyeboltIn stock. Featured NEW $25.99. Title names greenhouse tie-down. Four pieces, not a 20×40 or 30×96 post schedule. Compared in more staple counts on the ground-anchors page. | B08HR6SMLQ | $25.99 |
| Screw-in anchor | 15 in · 4-pack | MAXCCINO 4 Pack 15" Ground Anchors Screw in with Drill, Heavy Duty 3" Wide Helix Spiral Earth Anchors for Camping, Tents, Sheds, Swing Sets, Car Ports, Canopies, Shelters, High Wind Trampoline AnchorsIn stock. Featured NEW $19.99. Listing copy: 4 anchors, 15 inches, detachable eyelets, 3-inch helix. “High wind” is vendor title language, not a PSF rating. | B0C6QQ8SQS | $19.99 |
| Auger kit | 18 in · 4-pack + cable | Fabulas 4 Pack 18" Ground Anchors Shed Anchor Kit with 50ft Galvanized Cable & 4 Pack Turnbuckles, Heavy Duty Ground Anchor Screw in Spiral Auger Earth Stakes for Shed Trampoline Swing Set Mobile HomeIn stock. Featured NEW $39.99. Title: 4 × 18-inch anchors, 50 ft galvanized cable, 4 turnbuckles. Not a commercially manufactured high-tunnel kit. | B0F3JDGCXL | $39.99 |
| Auger kit | 30 in · 4-piece | ShelterLogic ShelterAuger 4-Piece 30-Inch Reusable Heavy Duty Steel Earth Auger Anchor Kit with 4 Clamp-on Wire Tie-Downs for Anchoring Shelters, Canopies, and Instant Garages, SilverIn stock. First featured priceAmount $44.99 (a second $22.50 also printed on the retrieved page — not used as the selected 4-piece price). ShelterLogic brand; not a hoop-house BOM. | B000N50L4C | $44.99 |
| Landscape staple | 8 ga · 100-pack | ECOgardener Extra Heavy Duty Galvanized Weed Barrier Landscape Fabric StaplesIn stock. Featured NEW $78.05. Fabric / sod pin, not a frame ground post. Pack size only. | B079S4TBXX | $78.05 |
As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.
Packs, not a house takeoff
- BISupply 15-inch 4-pack (B08HR6SMLQ). Featured $25.99. Title names greenhouse tie-down. Four pieces.
- MAXCCINO 15-inch 4-pack (B0C6QQ8SQS). Featured $19.99. “High wind” is the listing title, not a PSF rating.
- Fabulas 18-inch kit (B0F3JDGCXL). Featured $39.99. Four augers plus cable and turnbuckles.
- ShelterAuger 30-inch 4-piece (B000N50L4C). Featured $44.99. Shelter / canopy copy, not a hoop-house BOM.
- ECOgardener 8-gauge 100-pack (B079S4TBXX). Featured $78.05. Fabric staple, not a ground post.
Sidewalls stay on roll-up sides. End walls stay on end walls. Shade stays on shade cloth. Drip stays on drip irrigation. Hip lock stays on wiggle wire.
FAQ
- Do high-tunnel kits include ground posts?
- Most kits on tonight’s product pages name steel ground posts or ground stakes in the listed package: Bootstrap All-Metal, Essential, and Premium; Rimol extended posts for 6-foot side walls; Haven swage-free posts; Guardian posts on the install FAQ; Glacier 30-inch stakes; Super Duty stakes; TVH 30 ground-post anchors; GK1 1⅜-inch stakes. TVH 20 lists a baseframe or ground-post-anchor choice. Ledgewood and Hortitech do not name posts. An Amazon screw-in 4-pack is an extra, not that manufacturer tube.
- What is a ground post on a high tunnel?
- The steel tube you drive or set so the bow or sidewall sits above grade. Vendors also say ground stake, ground-post anchor, or extended ground post. A screw-in helix with an eye is a different part — a tie-down you buy when the kit omits extras or when a grower wants more hold-downs. It is not a wind-load table.
- Does this page publish a wind rating?
- No. Vendor sentences about wind bracing, IBC, a high-wind roof kit, or a 50+ mph anecdote on a sister tunnel are copied as vendor language and labeled. This page does not invent mph, PSF, or a stamped engineering rating.
- Does EQIP pay extra for ground posts or screw-in anchors?
- The national High Tunnel System Initiative FAQ says financial assistance is provided only for the structure itself, and that the grower is responsible for electricity, venting, lighting, and similar additions. Posts that ship with a commercially manufactured kit can sit inside that structure. This page does not invent a separate EQIP ground-post or auger payment. Rules vary; call your county NRCS office.
- Can I size a house from a 15-inch 4-pack?
- No. The BISupply and MAXCCINO listings are four 15-inch screw-in anchors. That is not a 20-foot or 30-foot post takeoff. Pack size is copied as printed. More staple counts stay on the ground-anchors page.
Rules vary; call your county NRCS office. Tunnel Spec does not determine eligibility, payment rates, or inspection outcomes. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases.